Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment, University of Johannesburg

Contact Details

Physical Address: Crn Kingsway Avenue & University Road, Auckland Park
Postal Address: PO Box 524 Auckland Park 2006
Telephone: +27 (0) 11 5596588 / 2599


Higher Education, Engineering and the Built Environment

Organisation Profile

The Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment (FEBE) is one of the seven faculties of the University of Johannesburg. FEBE is home to five schools, 12 departments and two technology stations. The Faculty offer both Engineering Technology and Engineering Science undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. In keeping with the University’s quest for Global Excellence and Stature, the Faculty is the first in South Africa to offer global education to the widest range of comprehensive professional engineering, engineering technology and built environment qualifications. FEBE also offers programmes in quality and operational management.

FEBE remains a leading provider of well-qualified engineers, engineering technologists and technicians. Programmes are appropriately accredited by recognised national and international bodies or accords. Over the years, the Faculty has established strategic partnerships within the international higher education landscape and with key industry stakeholders. Operating within the dynamic and competitive higher education landscape, FEBE is innovative in its approach to teaching, learning, collaborative research, community engagement, international partnerships and remains at the cutting edge of technology.​ The Faculty focuses on the promotion of reflective and critical thinking, novel ways of problem-solving and believes in environmentally sustainable solutions. Programmes are themed to various areas of sustainable development.

The Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment is supported by the following Accreditation Bodies:

  • Professional Engineering and Engineering Technology Programmes: The Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA) (embed link www.ecsa.co.za)
  • Town and Regional Planning Programmes: South African Council for Planners (SACPLAN) (Embed Link www.sacplan.org.za)
  • Mine Surveying Programme: South African Council for Professional and Technical Surveyors (PLATO) (Embed Link www.plato.org.za)
  • Construction Management Programme: South African Council for Project and Construction Management Professions (SACPCMP) (Embed link www.sacpcmp.org.za)
  • Quantity Surveying Programme: & South African Council for the Quantity Surveying Profession (SACQSP) (Embed Link www.sacqsp.org.za)
  • Quality and Operations Management Programmes are quality assured through institutional processes.

Accreditation agencies generally align to international accords and in this way most programmes listed by FEBE receive recognition internationally. ECSA is a signatory of the Dublin, Sydney and Washington Accord, which provides international recognition for the Faculty’s BEng and BEngTech. Curricula are specifically designed, taking into consideration the National Skills Development Plan, industry needs, surrounding communities, government, economy and international bodies. Programmes are subject to accreditation visits and quality assurance.

Washington Accord:

The Washington Accord, signed in 1989, is an international agreement among bodies responsible for accrediting engineering degree programmes. It recognizes the substantial equivalency of programmes accredited by those bodies and recommends that graduates of programmes accredited by any of the signatory bodies be recognized by the other bodies as having met the academic requirements for entry to the practice of engineering.

Sydney Accord:

Similarly, an Agreement was developed for Engineering Technologists or Incorporated Engineers, called the Sydney Accord (SA), which was signed in June 2001.

Dublin Accord:

The Dublin Accord is an agreement for the international recognition of Engineering Technician qualifications. In May 2002 the national engineering organisations of the United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, South Africa and Canada signed an agreement mutually recognising the qualifications which underpin the granting of Engineering Technician titles in the four countries.

South Africa, through ECSA, is an active member of all three (3) accords.

Further, and up-to-date, information on accords: www.ieagreements.org




Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment

Tel: +27 (0)11 559 6588/+27 (0)11 559 2599

Email: web-engineering@uj.ac.za

Facebook: Engineering@UJ

Twitter: @EngineeringUJ

Website: www.uj.ac.za/faculties/febe