Department: Cooperative Governance (COGTA)

Contact Details

Physical: 87 Hamilton Street, Arcadia, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X804, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 334 0600/0705
Fax: 012 334 0603


The mission of the Department of Cooperative Governance (COGTA) is to ensure that all municipalities perform their basic responsibilities and functions without compromise by: putting people and their concerns first; supporting the delivery of municipal services to the right quality and standard; promoting good governance, transparency and accountability; ensuring sound financial management and accounting; and building institutional resilience and administrative capability.

Governance is to facilitate cooperative governance and support all spheres of government, promote traditional affairs and support associated institutions through: developing appropriate policies and legislation to promote integration in government's development programmes and service delivery; providing strategic interventions, support and partnerships to facilitate policy implementation in the provinces and local government; and creating enabling mechanisms for communities to participate in governance.

The strategic goals of the Department are aligned with the broad policy priorities of the country, as outlined in the 2014-2019 Medium-Term Strategic Framework (MTSF). The Department drives the implementation of the MTSF Outcome 9: to realise the MTSF vision and B2B programme through the implementation of strategic outcome-orientated goals, and programme strategic objectives for the Medium-Term Expenditure Framework (MTEF) 2015-2020 for updated strategic outcome-orientated goals.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr D van Rooyen
Deputy Minister
Mr A Nel
Director General
Dr M Nwaila

Mr David van Rooyen
Deputy Minister:
Mr Andries Nel
Director General:
Dr MC Nwaila (Acting)
Ms Joshna Govind (Personal Assistant: Deputy Minister)
Mr Sibusiso Khambule (Cabinet Liaison Officer)
Mr Ben Ramile
Chief of Staff:
Mr Ian Whitley
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Dorothee Snyman
Deputy Directors General:
Senior Management:
Mr Tozi Faba (Corporate Services)
Mr T Fosi (Local Government Support and Interventions Management)
Mr Mpho Lekgoro (Head of Office)
Ms V Ndah (Chief Directorate: Legal Services)
Ms S Ramanand (Chief Directorate: Internal Audit and Risk Management)
Mr George Seitisho (Acting National Programme Manager: Community Work Programme)
Dr Maphake Tau (National Disaster Management Centre)
Communications Officers:
Zodwa Mogola (Office of the Director General)
Mr Lebohang Tekane (Cabinet and Parliamentary Liaison)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation70 816 59363 455 80158 460 12754 856 162
Actual Expenditure68 097 53759 386 54856 403 17053 437 317
Employee Compensation258 334234 442226 816266 374
Goods and Services2 501 2881 737 7381 887 1011 587 471
Capital Assets41 20921 05914 75917 822
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure442 458155 375403 600503 359
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure--62
Posts Approved455451488n/a
Posts Filled406394432n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a
NoteCombined figures for Department: Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsCombined figures for Department: Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
International Pre-University College
Railway Safety Regulator