National Advisory Council on Innovation (NACI)

Contact Details

Physical: Ground Floor, Enterprise Building, Mark Shuttleworth Street, The Innovation Hub, Pretoria, 0001
Postal: Private Bag X894, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 844 0252
Fax: 086 681 0144


The mission of the National Advisory Council on Innovation (NACI) is to become a relevant, prominent, credible and responsive advisory body to the minister about national matters concerning innovation, including science and technology, thereby contributing to the achievement of the national objectives of South Africa. NACI gives effect to its mission by utilising accountable scientific approaches and the best available resources. NACI's ideal is to be seen as the premier source of advice.

The Council's mandate involves: coordination and stimulation of the National System of Innovation (NSI); promotion of cooperation within the NSI; structuring, governance and coordination of the Science and Technology (S&T) system; revision of the innovation policy; strategies for the promotion of all aspects of technological innovation; identification of Research and Development (R&D) priorities; and funding of the S&T system.

Office Bearers/Management

Prof C de la Rey
Chief Executive Officer
Dr M Cele

Prof Cheryl de la Rey
Deputy Chairperson:
Council Members:
Ms Clare Busetti
Dr Mlungisi Cele (Acting CEO)
Prof Roseanne Diab
Dr Thulani Dlamini
Dr Azar Jammine
Mr Mafika Mkwanazi
Dr Shadrack Moephuli
Ms Zanele Monnakgotla
Mr Dhesigen Naidoo
Mr Kevin Nassiep
Dr Andile Ngcaba
Mr Sullivan O'Carroll
Dr Molapo Qhobela
Prof Crain Soudien
Mr Paul Steenkamp
Mr Garth Strachan
Prof Jennifer Ann Thomson
Chief Executive Officer:
Dr Mlungisi Cele (Acting)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Charlotte Mzolo

Overseeing Department/Entity

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
FNB Public Sector Banking
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
Maluti TVET College
South African Property Owners Association
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd