National Economic Development and Labour Council (NEDLAC)

Contact Details

Physical: 14A Jellicoe Avenue, Rosebank, Johannesburg
Postal: PO Box 1775, Saxonwold, 2132
Tel: 011 328 4200
Fax: 011 447 6053 / 2089


The mission of the National Economic Development and Labour Council (NEDLAC) is to give effect to the Nedlac Act by ensuring effective public participation in the labour market and socio-economic policy and legislation, and to facilitate consensus and cooperation between government, labour, business and the community in dealing with South Africa's socio-economic challenges.

The Nedlac Act requires the institution to: strive to promote the goals of economic growth, participation in economic decision-making and social equity; seek to reach consensus and conclude agreements on matters pertaining to social and economic policy; consider all proposed labour legislation relating to labour market policy before it is introduced in Parliament; encourage and promote the formulation of coordinated policy on social and economic matters; consider all significant changes to social and economic policy before it is implemented or introduced in Parliament; and consider socio-economic disputes in terms of Section 77 of the Labour Relations Act.

Office Bearers/Management

Chief Executive Officer
M Vilakazi

Deputy Chairperson:
Council Members:
Dr Faried Adams
Mr Lawrence Bale (Community)
Dr Wolsey Barnard (Acting DG: Government)
Mr Koos Bezuidenhout (Labour)
Mr Christo Botes (Business)
Ms Tanya Cohen (Business)
Cas Coovadia (Business)
R Davies (Minister: Government)
Ms Angela Dick (Business)
Mr Mziwonke Dlabantu (DG: Government)
Sidumo Dlamini (Labour)
Mr Tony Ehrenreich (Labour)
Ms Isobel Frye (Community)
Mr Lungisa Fuzile (DG: Government)
Mr Dennis George (Labour)
Mr P Gordhan (Minister: Government)
SP Holomisa (Deputy Minister: Government)
Mr Eugene Johnson (Community)
Thembinkosi Josopu (Community)
Ms Laura Kganyago (Community)
Themba Khumalo (Labour)
Mr Martin Kingston (Business)
Mr Joe Kokela (Labour)
Khanyisile Kweyama (Business)
Mr Thobile Lamati (DG: Government)
Zingiswa Losi (Labour)
Mr Jabu Mabuza (Business)
Thulani Mabuza (Community)
Mr Nkosi Madula
Mr Thokozani Magwaza (DG: Government)
Jan Mahlangu (Labour)
Magope Maphila (Labour)
Mr Joseph Maqhekeni (Labour)
Mr Raymond Masoga
Thamsanqa Mathosa (Labour)
Conti Matlakala (Community)
Mr Zacharia Matsela (Community)
Ms Catherine Mavi
Mduduzi Mbongwe (Labour)
Mr Richard Mdakane (Community)
Ms Thandiwe Alina Mfulo (Community)
Mr Thembinkosi Mkalipi
Mr Gregory Mofokeng (Business)
Narius Moloto (Labour)
Diteko Moreotsenye (Community)
Mr Jonas Mosia (Labour)
Mr Kaizer Moyane (Overall Convenor: Business)
Skumbuzo Mpanza (Community)
Mr David Msiza (Acting DG: Government)
Dumisani Mthalane (Overall Convenor: Community)
Mr Adam Mthombeni (DC Convenor: Government)
Mr Kumaran Naidoo (Acting DG: Government)
Kugesh Naidoo (Community)
Bheki Ntshalintshali (Labour)
T Nxesi (Minister: Government)
Mr Lionel October (DG: Government)
M Oliphant (Minister: Government)
Ms Freda Oosthuysen (Labour)
Mr Matthew Parks (Labour)
Mr John Purchase (Business)
Tebello Radebe (Community)
Mr Virgil Seafield (Overall Convenor: Government)
Mr Godfrey Selematsela (Labour)
Mr Herman Tsebe (Community)
Ms Thulani Tshefuta (Community)
Mr Robert Tsikwe (Community)
Chief Executive Officer:
Madoda Vilakazi (Executive Director)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mfanufikile Daza
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Ms Frieda Garvie (Executive PA)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedQualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Current Assets6 5649 52619 62217 769
Non-Current Assets21 31820 7677 4598 019
Total Assets27 88130 29227 08125 788
Current Liabilities2 5552 3962 6321 690
Non-Current Liabilities----
Total Liabilities2 5552 3962 6321 690
Total Net Assets25 32627 89624 44924 098
Total Revenue29 96928 27626 80825 583
Revenue from Exchange Transactions1 1788298741 324
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactions28 79127 44725 93424 259
Total Expenditure(32 532)(27 925)(26 417)(18 833)
Employee Costs(12 111)(12 095)(10 281)(7 395)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Year(2 570)3513526 769
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activities6451 2002 3107 092
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activities(1 742)(13 126)(462)(369)
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Year6 4357 53219 33717 457
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure4 0084 2562 7554 315
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure1246829-
Posts Approved303030n/a
Posts Filled282628n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Maluti TVET College
Applied Satellite Technology Systems
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
Cape Town International Convention Centre