Department: Economic Development (EDD)

Contact Details

Physical: 3rd Floor, Block A, The dti Campus, 77 Meintjies Street, Sunnyside, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X149, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 394 3747
Fax: 012 394 0255


The mission of the Department of Economic Development (EDD) is to: coordinate the contributions of government departments, state entities and civil society to effect economic development; improve alignment between economic policies, plans of the state, its agencies, government's political and economic objectives and mandate; and promote government's goal of advancing economic development via the creation of decent work opportunities.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr E Patel
Deputy Minister
Mr M Masuku
Director General
Mr M Simpson

Mr Ebrahim Patel
Deputy Minister:
Mr Madala Masuku
Director General:
Mr Malcolm Simpson (Acting)
Ms Aldene Appolis (Private Secretary: Minister)
Chief of Staff:
Dr Molefe Pule
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Steven Hlahane (Acting)
Deputy Directors General:
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Thembinkosi Gamlashe (Director: Communications)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a941 856751 239831 554
Actual Expendituren/a889 415698 924771 395
Employee Compensationn/a79 39875 68870 922
Goods and Servicesn/a48 98840 56765 872
Capital Assetsn/a4 9492 7126 497
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a401-558
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a---
Posts Approvedn/a140164166
Posts Filledn/a116121136
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
RCM School of Excellence
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers
UKZN Extended Learning
International Pre-University College
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd