National House of Traditional Leaders

Contact Details

Physical: 509 Cnr Pretorius & Steve Biko Streets, Pencardia 1, Arcadia, Pretoria, 0083
Postal: Private Bag X196, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 336 5853
Fax: 086 568 0765 / 086 508 1988


The National House of Traditional Leaders is a body composed of traditional leaders who are delegates from the Provincial Houses of Traditional Leaders of South Africa, representing the Provincial Houses at national level.

It was established to: represent traditional leadership and their communities; advance the aspirations of the traditional leadership and their communities at national level; advance the plight of provincial houses of traditional leaders, traditional leadership and their communities at national government level; participate on international matters that have to do with custom, traditions and matters of common interest and influence government legislative processes at national level.

The mandate of the House is to: promote the role of traditional leadership within the constitutional dispensation; promote nation-building; promote peace, stability and cohesiveness of communities; develop, preserve and promote culture and traditions of communities; consider Parliamentary Bills referred to it by the Secretary; participate in intergovernmental structures and advise the national government and make recommendations on any matter that the government may require.

Office Bearers/Management

KPP Maubane
Chief Executive Officer
Mr A Sithole

Kgosi Pontsho Phopolo Maubane
Deputy Chairperson:
Ikosi Sipho Mahlangu
Board Members:
Chief Executive Officer:
Mr Abram Sithole
Chief Operations Officer:
Senior Management:
Mr Sam Khandhlela
Mr Jocob Mashishi
Communications Officers:

Overseeing Department/Entity

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
The Pacific Institute South Africa
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
Applied Satellite Technology Systems
Cape Town International Convention Centre