National Lotteries Commission

Contact Details

Physical: Block D, Hatfield Gardens, 333 Grosvenor Street, Hatfield, Pretoria, 0083
Postal: PO Box 1556, Brooklyn Square, Pretoria, 0075
Tel: 012 432 1300 / 086 006 5383
Fax: 012 432 1388 / 086 523 7127


The mission of the National Lotteries Commission is to regulate all lotteries and sports pools with integrity and ensure the protection of all participants; maximize revenue for good causes in a responsible manner; and distribute funds equitably and expeditiously.

The Commission's functions are to: advise the Minister on the issuing of the licence to conduct the National Lottery; ensure that the National Lottery and sports pools are conducted with all due propriety; ensure that the interests of every participant in the National Lottery are adequately protected; ensure that the net proceeds of the National Lottery are as large as possible; administer the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund (NLDTF) and hold it in trust; monitor, regulate and police lotteries incidental to exempt entertainment, private lotteries, society lotteries, and any competition contemplated; advise the Minister on percentages of money to be allocated; advise the Minister on the efficacy of legislation pertaining to lotteries and ancillary matters; advise the Minister on establishing and implementing a social responsibility programme in respect of lotteries; administer and invest the money paid to the Commission in accordance with the Lotteries Act; perform such additional duties in respect of lotteries as the Minister may assign to the Commission; make such arrangements as may be specified in the licence for the protection of prize monies and sums for distribution; and advise the Minister on any matter relating to the National Lottery and other lotteries, or any other matter on which the Minister requires the advice of the Commission.

Office Bearers/Management

Prof A Nevhutanda
Mrs TC Mampane

Prof Alfred Nevhutanda
Mrs Thabang Charlotte Mampane
Deputy Chairperson:
Board Members:
Ms Doris Dondur
Ms Yaswant Narotham Gordhan
Adv William Elias Huma
Ms Thabang Sophie Kekana
Dr Muthuhadini Alfred Madzivhandila
Ms Zandile Nkonyane
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Phillemon Letwaba
Senior Management:
Ms Daisy Ledwaba (Chief Audit Executive)
Ms Modjadji Makoela (Executive Manager: Corporate Services)
Ms Nompumelelo Nene (Company Secretary)
Ms Tintswalo Nkuna (Executive Manager: Compliance)
Mr Mothibi Ramusi (Chief Information Officer)
Communications Officers:
Ms Odaho Sengani (Communication Specialist)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Current Assets1 776 3814 243 8514 398 2454 859 655
Non-Current Assets1 660 42163 85718 03411 666
Total Assets3 436 8034 307 7094 416 1644 871 322
Current Liabilities1 812 5171 419 4531 789 3741 654 179
Non-Current Liabilities304 905401 413549 741780 502
Total Liabilities2 117 4221 820 9572 339 1152 434 681
Total Net Assets1 319 9802 486 7522 077 0492 436 641
Total Revenue1 410 3621 897 6321 846 3901 905 573
Revenue from Exchange Transactions272 207318 8791 846 3901 905 573
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactions1 138 1551 578 753--
Total Expenditure(2 577 734)(1 487 958)(2 210 903)(2 001 217)
Employee Costs(180 907)(136 940)(104 554)(58 656)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Year(1 167 372)409 675(364 514)(93 328)
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activities(859 040)(113 691)(467 678)144 493
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activities(1 353 312)2 147 173503 412(202 011)
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Year820 3023 077 2551 018 917941 311
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure2054 918--
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure-1215-
Posts Approvedn/a54n/an/a
Posts Filled25354n/an/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
UKZN Extended Learning
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
FNB Public Sector Banking
South African Property Owners Association