Department: Energy

Contact Details

Physical: 192 Cnr Visagie & Paul Kruger Streets, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X96, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 406 8000


The mission of the Department of Energy is to regulate and transform the sector for the provision of secure, sustainable and affordable energy. The Department’s mandate is to ensure secure and sustainable provision of energy for socio-economic development. The strategic objective derives from the NDP, which envisages that, by 2030, South Africa will have an energy sector that promotes economic growth and development, social equity and environmental sustainability.

The Department's Energy Policy is based on the following key objectives: attaining universal access to energy; accessible, affordable and reliable energy, especially for the poor; diversifying primary energy sources and reducing dependency on coal; good governance, which must also facilitate and encourage private sector investments in the energy sector; and environmentally responsible energy provision. This mandate is from the White Paper on Energy Policy, 1998, the White Paper on Renewable Energy, 2003, and the National Energy Efficiency Strategy.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms M Kubayi
Deputy Minister
Amb T Majola
Director General
Mr T Zulu

Ms Mmamoloko Kubayi
Deputy Minister:
Amb Thembisile Majola
Director General:
Mr Thabane Zulu
Ms Nokuthula Mbeje
Ms Zoleka Ndudane
Ms Maleshoane Selokoe (Personal Assistant: Deputy Minister)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Abednigo Hlungwani (Head of Office: Director General)
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Yvonne Chetty
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Ompi Aphane (Policy, Planning and Clean Energy)
Mr Tseliso Maqubela (Petroleum and Petroleum Products Regulation)
Mr Zizamele Smodeni Mbambo (Nuclear Energy)
Senior Management:
Ms Louisa Mohlamme (Head of Office: Deputy Minister)
Communications Officers:
Ms Thandiwe Maimane (Chief Director: Communications)
Mr Lebohang Tshabalala (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation8 364 8287 582 4426 619 5266 734 478
Actual Expenditure7 327 6546 355 1856 477 0636 658 984
Employee Compensation296 009264 266228 545201 484
Goods and Services213 299209 341186 240170 209
Capital Assets4 4243 76311 68210 555
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure678553798 238
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure12---
Posts Approved687652595n/a
Posts Filled610583550n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
Maluti TVET College
UKZN Extended Learning
International Pre-University College