Department: Environmental Affairs

Contact Details

Physical: 473 Steve Biko & Soutpansberg Roads, Arcadia, Pretoria, 0083
Postal: Private Bag X447, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 399 9000 / 086 111 2468
Fax: 012 359 3625


The Department of Environmental Affairs is mandated to give effect to the right of citizens to an environment that is not harmful to their health or well-being, and to have the environment protected for the benefit of present and future generations. To this end, the Department provides leadership in environmental management, conservation and protection towards sustainability for the benefit of South Africans and the global community.

The mission of the Department of Environmental Affairs is to provide leadership in environmental management, conservation and protection towards sustainability for the benefit of South Africans and the global community.

The Department's strategic objectives are to: provide leadership, strategic, centralised administration, executive support, corporate services and, facilitate effective cooperative governance, international relations, and environmental education and awareness; promote the development and implementation of an enabling legal regime and licensing/authorisation system to ensure enforcement and compliance with environmental law; promote, manage and provide strategic leadership on oceans and coastal conservation; improve air and atmospheric quality, lead and support, inform, monitor and report efficient and effective international, national and significant provincial and local responses to climate change; ensure the regulation and management of all biodiversity, heritage and conservation matters in a manner that facilitates sustainable economic growth and development; implement expanded public works and green economy projects in the environmental sector; and manage and ensure that chemicals and waste management policies and legislation are implemented and enforced in compliance with chemicals and waste management authorisations, directives and agreements.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms E Molewa
Deputy Minister
Ms B Thomson
Director General
Ms N Ngcaba

Ms Edna Molewa
Deputy Minister:
Ms Barbara Thomson
Director General:
Ms Nosipho Ngcaba
Mr Claude Mogambrey Nadasen (Personal Assistant: Minister)
Ms Nontsikelelo Tiko (Personal Assistant: Deputy Minister)
Ms Siphokazi Vanda (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Paul Daphne
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Esther Makau
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Ishaam Abader (Legal, Authorisation and Compliance Inspectorate)
Ms Judy Beaumont (Climate Change and Air Quality)
Mr Mark Gordon (Chemicals and Waste Management)
Dr Monde Mayekiso (Oceans and Coasts)
Mr Shonisani Munzhedzi (Biodiversity and Conservation)
Dr Guy Preston (Environmental Programmes)
Mr Alf Wills (Environmental Advisory Services)
Senior Management:
Ms Limpho Makotoko (Chief Operating Officer)
Nelisiwe Msibi (Head of Office: Deputy Minister)
Communications Officers:
Mr Errol Makoba (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)
Mr Harry Masenya (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)
Ms Zanele Mngadi (Chief Director: Ministerial Communications)
Mr Albi Modise (Chief Director: Communications)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedClean AuditClean AuditFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation5 954 7835 719 0985 239 9855 175 321
Actual Expenditure5 950 1205 687 2845 206 0024 942 661
Employee Compensation909 177787 791659 222560 834
Goods and Services1 003 466854 516873 004824 916
Capital Assets160 859137 083221 619474 641
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure----
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure---25 865
Posts Approved1 8951 8451 840n/a
Posts Filled1 7651 6541 588n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
Maqhilika Timber Pty (Ltd)
International Pre-University College
RCM School of Excellence