South African Diamond and Precious Metals Regulator

Contact Details

Physical: SA Diamond Centre, 251 Fox Street, Cnr Philip & Main Streets, Johannesburg
Postal: PO Box 16001, Doornfontein, 2023
Tel: 011 223 7000
Fax: 011 334 8980


The mission of the South African Diamond and Precious Metals Regulator is to render regulatory services by ensuring compliance with legislation, skills transfer, business development support, equitable access to resources, and local beneficiation.

The Regulator's key strategic objectives are to: ensure competitiveness, sustainable development and job creation in the diamond and precious metals industry; ensure effective transformation of the diamond and precious metals sectors; ensure equitable access to resources for local beneficiation; ensure compliance with the legislative requirements; and improve organisational capacity for maximum execution brilliance.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms NH Mkhumane
Chief Executive Officer
Mr L Rapoo

Ms Nombulelo Hlolinhlanhla Mkhumane (Chairperson: Executive Committee)
Deputy Chairperson:
Mr Steve Phiri
Board Members:
Maj Gen Pieter Jacob Arendse (Licensing Committee and Technical Committee)
Mr Peter Francis Bailey (Licensing Committee and Remuneration Committee)
Mr Andre Bezuidenhout (Finance Committee)
Mr Llewellyn Delport (Chairperson: Finance Committee, and Executive Committee)
Mr Leon Grobler (Chairperson: Technical Committee, Audit and Risk Committee, and Executive Committee)
Ms Motlatso Constance Kobe (Licensing Committee)
Mr Mosa Mabuza (Licensing Committee and Remuneration Committee)
Ms Zodwa Penelope Manase (Audit and Risk Committee)
Brig Ntombizodwa Hazel Mokoena (Licensing Committee and Technical Committee)
Mr Sakhile Glen Ngcobo (Chairperson: Remuneration Committee, and Technical Committee)
Mr Raymond Paola (Chairperson: Audit and Risk Committee, and Finance Committee)
Mr Levy Rapoo (CEO)
Ms Sharon Nthabiseng Xaba (Technical Committee and Finance Committee)
Ms Ntombifuthi Zikalala (Chairperson: Licensing Committee, and Executive Committee)
Chief Executive Officer:
Mr Levy Rapoo
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Irene Tshifura
Senior Management:
Mr Cecil Khosa (General Manager)
Mr Conrad Mlondo (General Manager)
Adv Martinus Mononela (General Manager)
Communications Officers:
Dithuso Kgari

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Current Assetsn/a50 88546 11445 023
Non-Current Assetsn/a12 45414 30812 158
Total Assetsn/a63 33860 42257 181
Current Liabilitiesn/a13 74317 0668 210
Non-Current Liabilitiesn/a657116
Total Liabilitiesn/a13 74917 1238 326
Total Net Assetsn/a49 58943 29948 855
Total Revenuen/a93 09087 67781 275
Revenue from Exchange Transactionsn/a42 56339 86736 451
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactionsn/a50 52747 81044 824
Total Expendituren/a(86 788)(93 100)(85 914)
Employee Costsn/a(65 279)(59 819)(54 860)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Yearn/a6 291(5 557)(4 842)
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activitiesn/a2 9953 636(5 015)
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activitiesn/a6 251(1 711)10 392
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Yearn/a29 34720 23018 317
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a---
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a---
Posts Approvedn/a129128125
Posts Filledn/a125115119
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Maluti TVET College
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
Human Resource Development Council of South Africa
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd