South African Post Office (SAPO)

Contact Details

Physical: 350 Witch Hazel Street, Eco Point, Centurion, 0074
Postal: PO Box 10 000, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 649 6000
Fax: 012 401 7707


The mission of the South African Post Office SOC Ltd (SAPO) is to leverage its established infrastructure to link government, business and consumers with each other locally and abroad.

As a state-owned enterprise, SAPO is the mandated service provider of the services outlined in the Postal Act 44 of 1958 and Postal Services Act 124 of 1998. In addition to these services, SAPO also offers courier and freight services, financial services, electronic bill payment, and a variety of government services such as Extended Public Works Programme (EPWP) payment and motor vehicle licence renewals.

SAPO is committed to government developmental state objectives and focuses on improving the access to basic services in previously underserviced communities. Its network is currently the largest point of presence nationally and is able to connect government, businesses and citizens anywhere in South Africa.

Leveraging off its sizeable retail and distribution network, SAPO promotes economic growth though the provision of financial, postal, logistics and retail products and services that are competitively priced, nationally accessible and in compliance with regulated service commitments and standards.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr ZC Ngidi
Chief Executive Officer
Mr M Barnes

Mr Zibuse Comfort Ngidi (Acting)
Deputy Chairperson:
Board Members:
Ms Marion Lesego Dawn Marole
Mr Kgosi Matthews
Dr Lynette Moretlo Molefi
Mr Phetole Elvis Rabohale
Ms Nomahlubi Victoria Simamane
Mr Mduduzi Eric Zakwe
Chief Executive Officer:
Mr Mark Barnes
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Nichola Dewar
Chief Operations Officer:
Ms Lindiwe Kwele
Senior Management:
Mr Shaheen Adam (Acting Managing Director: Postbank)
Mr Geert Bataille (Acting Group Executive: Retail)
Mr Mark Janse van Rensburg (Acting: Group Executive Operations)
Mr Mthoko Mncwabe (Chief Information Officer)
Mr Trevor Ndlazi (Group Executive: Strategy and Sustainability)
Mr Kobus Nieuwoudt (Acting Company Secretary)
Mr Claude Phillips (Chief Audit Executive)
Mr Mahmood Salojee (Group Executive: Governance and Regulatory Affairs)
Ms Anthea Seafield (Group Executive: Human Capital Management)
Ms Nompumelelo Tjikane (Acting Group Executive: Supply Chain)
Mr Twiggs Xiphu (Corporate Affairs)
Communications Officers:
Bongani Diako
Booysen Mabuza

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedQualifiedQualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Current Assetsn/a8 229 7967 599 1178 333 920
Non-Current Assetsn/a1 886 2852 196 4362 957 386
Total Assetsn/a10 116 0819 795 55311 291 306
Current Liabilitiesn/a8 621 9727 308 7426 933 032
Non-Current Liabilitiesn/a1 636 0801 674 6482 027 836
Total Liabilitiesn/a10 258 0528 983 3908 960 868
Total Net Assetsn/a(141 971)812 1632 335 759
Total Revenuen/a5 419 3246 030 6826 238 635
Revenue from Exchange Transactionsn/a5 419 3246 030 6826 238 635
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactionsn/a---
Total Expendituren/a(6 534 101)(7 452 146)(6 645 306)
Employee Costsn/a(3 481 673)(3 750 725)(3 618 068)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Yearn/a(1 114 777)(1 421 464)(406 671)
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activitiesn/a(686 370)(113 981)(154 480)
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activitiesn/a(2 993)(90 395)345 198
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Yearn/a2 655 6223 335 2023 699 736
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a151 42875 05696 274
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a7 076242 065
Posts Approvedn/an/an/an/a
Posts Filledn/an/an/an/a
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report
NoteNot audited by AGSA. Independent Audit Report.

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Cranefield College of Project and Programme Management
FNB Public Sector Banking
Regent Business School
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd