National Council of Provinces (NCOP)

Contact Details

Physical: Parliament Street, Cape Town
Postal: PO Box 15, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 403 2911
Fax: 021 403 8219


The National Council of Provinces (NCOP) is one of the two Houses of Parliament. The NCOP is constitutionally mandated to ensure that provincial interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government. This is done through participation in the national legislative process and by providing a national forum for consideration of issues affecting provinces.

The NCOP also plays a unique role in the promotion of the principles of Cooperative Government and Intergovernmental Relations. It ensures that the three spheres of government work together in performing their unique functions in terms of the Constitution and that, in doing so, they do not encroach on each other's area of competence. This ensures that synergy exists between the spheres on matters of concurrent competence.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms TR Modise
Deputy Chairperson
Mr RJ Tau

Ms Thandi Ruth Modise
Deputy Chairperson:
Mr Raseriti Johannes Tau
Mr Makhosini Mishack Chabangu (EFF)
Mr Mergan Chetty (DA)
Mr Charel De Beer (ANC) (Select Committee on Finance)
Mr Clarah Dikgale (ANC) (House Chairperson: IR and Members Support)
Ms Bronwynn Anne Engelbrecht (DA)
Mr Farhat Essack (DA)
Mr Willem Frederik Faber (DA)
Mr Lennox Bogen Gaehler (UDM)
Mr Christian Hattingh (DA)
Mr Jacques Warren William Julius (DA)
Mr Mntomuhle Khawula (IFP)
Ms Nkagisang Poppy Koni (EFF)
Ms Cathlene Labuschagne (DA)
Mr Johan Jaco Londt (DA)
Mr Leon Vusimuzi Magwebu (DA)
Mr Eddie Makue (ANC) (Select Committee on Trade and International Relations)
Ms Tsapane Kgwedi Mampuru (ANC)
Dr Hunadi Euphemia Mateme (ANC) (NCOP: Chief Whip)
Ms Brenda Tirhani Mathevula (EFF)
Mr Moses Titus Mhlanga (ANC)
Mr George Michalakis (DA)
Mr Emmanuel Mlambo (ANC) (Joint Standing Committee on Defence)
Mr Seiso Mohai (ANC) (Select Committee on Appropriations)
Mr Jihad Mohapi (ANC) (Select Committee on Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs)
Mr Tebogo Josephine Mokwele (EFF)
Motalane Dewet Monakedi (ANC)
Ms Mojo Lydia Moshodi (ANC)
Ms Tasneem Motara (ANC)
Mr Tekoetsile Consolation Motlashuping (ANC)
Ms Thandi Gloria Mpambo-Sibhukwana (DA)
Mr James Mziwenkosi Mthethwa (ANC)
Mr Simphiwe George Mthimunye (ANC)
Ms Zukiswa Veronica Ncitha (ANC)
Delisile Blessing Ngwenya (EFF)
Mr Boingotlo Gerard Nthebe (ANC)
Mr Jomo Nyambi (ANC) (House Chairperson: Intergovernmental Relations and Committees)
Mr Lewis Nzimande (ANC) (Joint Constitutional Review Committee)
Mr Jonas Phello Parkies (ANC)
Ms Ellen Prins (ANC) (Select Committee on Communications and Public Enterprises)
Mr Mandla Rayi (ANC) (Select Committee on Economic and Business Development)
Ms Pindiwe Claribell Samka (ANC)
Mr Olifile Sefako (ANC) (Select Committee on Land and Mineral Resources)
Mr Aumsen Singh (ANC) (Joint Committee on Ethics and Members’ Interests)
Mr Christiaan Frederik Beyers Smit (DA)
Mr Dikgang Stock (ANC)
Mr Ockert Stefanus Terblanche (DA)
Dr Younus Cassim Vawda (EFF)
Ms Tabiso Wana (ANC)
Mr Dumisani Ximbi (ANC) (Select Committee on Security and Justice)
Ms Lungelwa Zwane (ANC) (Select Committee on Education and Recreation)
Secretary to the National Council of Provinces:
Adv Modibedi Phindela
Undersecretary to the National Council of Provinces:
Adv Benny Nonyane
Senior Management:
Bandisiwe Cabangana-Mnyanda (Manager: Committees, IGR and Oversight)
Bejani Chauke (Political Advisor to the Chairperson)
Mandisa Mangqalaza (Executive Head: Office of the Chairperson)
Mpubane Mathebe (Manager: IR and Members Support)
Adelaide Mohale (IGR Manager)
Bafo Momoti (Legal Advisor)
Sebolelo Mvulane (Office Manager: Deputy Chairperson NCOP)
Mr Paul Sebegoe (Office Manager: Chairperson’s Office)
Mandisi Tyumre (Research and Content Support Manager)
Communications Officers:
Adv Eric Phindela
Tshepiso Shuenyane (Communications Manager)

Overseeing Department/Entity

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
FNB Public Sector Banking
Railway Safety Regulator
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
The Pacific Institute South Africa
South African Property Owners Association