Department: International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO)

Contact Details

Physical: OR Tambo Building, 460 Soutpansberg Road, Rietondale, Pretoria, 0084
Postal: Private Bag X152, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 351 1000
Fax: 012 329 1000


The mission of the Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO) is to promote South Africa's national interests and values, the African Renaissance and the creation of a better world for all.

The Department's strategic objectives are to: protect and promote South African national interests and values through bilateral and multilateral interactions; conduct and coordinate South Africa's international relations and promote its foreign policy objectives; monitor international developments and advise government on foreign policy and related domestic matters; protect South Africa's sovereignty and territorial integrity; contribute to the formulation of international law and enhance respect for the provisions thereof; promote multilateralism to secure a rules-based international system; maintain a modern, effective and excellence-driven department; provide consular services to South African nationals abroad; and provide a world-class and uniquely South African State Protocol service.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms M Nkoana-Mashabane
Deputy Minister
Mr L Landers
Deputy Minister
Ms N Mfeketo
Director General
Mr K Mahoai

Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Deputy Minister:
Mr Luwellyn Landers
Ms Nomaindia Mfeketo
Director General:
Mr Kgabo Mahoai (Acting)
Ms Zenobia Istain (Private Secretary: Deputy Minister Landers)
Ms Olitha Lebelo (Private Secretary: Minister)
Ms Tiego Mothlamme (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Ms Nowetu Tolbat (Private Secretary: Deputy Minister Mfeketo)
Chief of Staff:
Ms Phumzile Mazibuko
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr C Ramashau
Deputy Directors General:
Amb MT Joyini (Diplomatic Training, Research and Analysis)
Amb NN Losi-Tutu (Chief: State Protocol)
Mr KE Mahoai (Corporate Management)
Mr EX Makaya (Africa Bilateral)
Ms JY Maya (Americas and Europe)
Mr TC Monyela (Public Diplomacy)
Amb N Mxakato-Diseko (Global and Continental Governance)
Mr C Ramashau (Financial and Assets Management)
Amb A Sooklal (Asia and the Middle East)
Senior Management:
Mr Zahir Amien (Head of Office: Deputy Minister Landers)
Mr M Makgakge (Chief Information Officer)
Mr G Mtukela (Head of Office: Deputy Minister Mfeketo)
Amb E Saley (Chief Operations Officer)
Communications Officers:
Ms Annamarie du Plessis (Director: Human Resource Administration)
Mr Nelson Kgwete (Media Liaison Officer)
Mr S Matsebe (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedQualifiedQualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation6 545 7386 139 4715 791 2155 271 525
Actual Expenditure6 644 7645 991 5525 867 2105 185 076
Employee Compensation3 083 7412 709 7492 433 7332 153 244
Goods and Services2 474 9362 197 8422 208 9681 863 875
Capital Assets240 849168 409203 980223 151
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure338 859102 36934 21910 876
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure5 5233636651 063
Posts Approved2 6982 6982 694n/a
Posts Filled2 3002 3002 376n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Cranefield College of Project and Programme Management
Human Resource Development Council of South Africa
Applied Satellite Technology Systems
RCM School of Excellence