Department: Justice and Constitutional Development (DOJ&CD)

Contact Details

Physical: Momentum Centre, 329 Pretorius Street, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X81, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 315 1111
Fax: 012 315 8130/1


The vision of the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development DOJ&CD) is a transformed and accessible justice system that promotes and protects social justice and the rule of law.

The Department's main strategic goals are to: enhance organisational performance on all aspects of administration in line with set standards, and meeting and exceeding the needs and aspirations of key stakeholders; facilitate the (effective and efficient) resolution of criminal, civil, and family law disputes by providing accessible, efficient and quality administrative support to the courts; and effectively and cost-efficiently provide state legal services that anticipate, meet and exceed stakeholder needs and expectations.

Note: The Department: Justice and Constitutional Development and the Department: Correctional Services were merged into the Department: Justice and Correctional Services after the May 2014 elections. For the purpose of this edition we have listed the departments separately as they reported in separate annual reports up to the 2014/15 financial year.

Office Bearers/Management

Adv M Masutha
Deputy Minister
Mr J Jeffery
Director General
Mr V Madonsela

Adv Michael Masutha (Minister of Justice and Correctional Services)
Deputy Minister:
Mr John Jeffery
Director General:
Mr Vusi Madonsela
Ms Shoneez Africa (Personal Assistant: Minister)
Ms Lerato Kgasi (Secretary: Minister)
Ms Jamela Mhlarhi (Personal Assistant: Deputy Minister)
Ms Babalwa Musekwa (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Kagiso Moleme
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Louraine Rossouw
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Romeo Adams (Corporate Services)
Mr Tsietsi Malema (Acting: Court Services)
Ms Kalay Pillay (Legislative Development)
Senior Management:
Adv Lester Basson (Chief Master)
Dr Khotso De Wee (Chief Operations Officer)
Ayesha Johaar (Acting Chief State Law Adviser)
Ms Mohube Phahlane (Acting Chief Litigation Officer)
Mr Blendynn Williams (Director: Legal Services)
Communications Officers:
Ms Nina Bhaktawar (Head: Communications)
Mr Mthunzi Mhaga (Ministerial Spokesperson)
Ms Judith Tshabalala (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation17 184 37818 231 69317 213 80312 583 462
Actual Expenditure16 706 73817 413 04916 051 41412 243 668
Employee Compensation9 250 2109 719 8749 013 0193 876 559
Goods and Services4 021 6444 183 6144 041 4463 443 301
Capital Assets1 063 4311 117 030836 820833 123
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure13 79444 69989 602160 102
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure1 26048462239 168
Posts Approved26 71728 69721 986n/a
Posts Filled23 91725 42419 684n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
FNB Public Sector Banking
South African Property Owners Association
International Pre-University College