Department: Mineral Resources

Contact Details

Physical: Trevenna Campus, Building 2C, Cnr Meintjes & Francis Baard Streets, Sunnyside, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X59, Arcadia, 0007
Tel: 012 444 3000
Fax: 012 341 2228


The mission of the Department of Mineral Resources is to promote and regulate the minerals and mining sector for transformation, growth and development, and ensure that all South Africans derive sustainable benefits from the country's mineral wealth.

The Department's strategic goals are to: increase investment in the minerals and mining sector by promoting and facilitating an increase in mining activity and value addition to mineral resources extracted in the country; improve the health and safety conditions in the mining sector by providing a framework for managing health and safety risks, enforcing compliance, and promoting best practice in the mining sector; achieve equitable and sustainable benefits from mineral resources by promoting sustainable resource management and contributing to skills development and the creation of meaningful/sustainable jobs, and contributing to the reduction of adverse environmental impacts from mining; transform the minerals sector by redressing past imbalances through broader participation in the minerals sector, directing intervention in communities, and increasing Black Economic Empowerment (BEE) and Small, Medium and Micro Enterprise (SMME) participation, which includes women, the youth and the disabled; and create an efficient, effective and development-orientated department by attracting, developing and retaining appropriate skills and ensuring the optimal utilisation of resources through implementing risk management strategies and promoting sound corporate governance.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr M Zwane
Deputy Minister
Mr G Oliphant
Director General
Adv T Mokoena

Mr Mosebenzi Zwane
Deputy Minister:
Mr Godfrey Oliphant
Director General:
Adv Thabo Mokoena
Ms Kefilwe Chibogo (Deputy Minister's PA)
Ms Queen Poolo (Minister's Assistant)
Ms Nwabisa Qwanyashe (Director General's PA)
Chief of Staff:
Ms Seipati Dhlamini
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Rhofiwa Singo
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Pat Gamede (Corporate Services)
Mr Mosa Mabuza (Mineral Policy and Promotion)
Mr David Msiza (Mine Health and Safety)
Mr Joel Raphela
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Martin Madlala (Media Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriation1 684 9201 523 6861 502 8831 175 533
Actual Expenditure1 653 3241 477 0951 387 2191 173 642
Employee Compensation526 265484 619435 251395 914
Goods and Services278 976252 265249 551227 890
Capital Assets10 62614 54113 90824 536
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure4282601 5673 348
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure----
Posts Approved1 3031 2891 293n/a
Posts Filled1 1251 1141 103n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Human Resource Development Council of South Africa
Applied Satellite Technology Systems
The Pacific Institute South Africa
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
Maluti TVET College