National Library of South Africa

Contact Details

Physical: 228 Johannes Ramokhoase (Proes) Street, Pretoria, 0001
Postal: Private Bag X990, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 401 9700/1
Fax: 012 326 7642


The National Library of South Africa, as the primary resource and custodian of South African documentary heritage, promotes creative, effective and efficient universal access to information.

The Library's core functions are to: build up a complete collection of published documents emanating from or relating to South Africa; maintain and extend any other collections of published and unpublished documents, with the emphasis on documents emanating from or relating to Southern Africa; promote the optimal management of collections of published documents held in South African libraries as a national resource; render a national bibliographic service and act as the national bibliographic agency; promote optimal access to published documents, nationally and internationally; provide reference and information services, nationally and internationally; act as the national preservation library and provide conservation services on a national basis; promote awareness and appreciation of the national published documentary heritage; and promote information awareness and information literacy.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr TTC Dlamini
Chief Executive Officer
Prof MR Ralebipi-Simela

Mr Themba Thomas Cyril Dlamini
Deputy Chairperson:
Board Members:
Mrs Charmaine Bertram
Mrs Nonhlanhla Eudocia Dick
Ms Sanele Aloisia Kunene
Dr Buhle Mbambo-Thata
Mr Jimmy Morakile
Prof Mary Nassimbeni
Mrs Maleho Margaret Daisy Nkomo
Prof Lesiba Teffo
Chief Executive Officer:
Prof MD Rocky Ralebipi-Simela (CEO and National Librarian)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Nkosini Mashabane
Senior Management:
Ms Zama Adegboyega (Director: Finance and Supply Chain Management)
Mr Theo Bhadais (Director: Information and Communication Technology)
Mr Mandla Buthelezi (Project Director: Mzansi Libraries Online Project)
Mr Douwe Drijfhout (Director: Preservation Services)
Mr Brian Mabasa (Director: Human Resources Management)
Dr Maisela Edward Maepa (Executive Director: Core Programmes)
Dr Khomotso Marumo (Director: Bibliographic Services and Collections Management)
Mr Mandla Matyumza (Director: Centre for the Book)
Mr Mashudu Mavhungu (Executive Director: Corporate Services)
Ms Sonto Moleme (Director: Information Access Services)
Communications Officers:
Mr Muponisi Nkuna
Ms Jolene Shirley (Director: Corporate and International Relations)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedQualifiedQualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Current Assets129 65957 98250 14128 444
Non-Current Assets47 20344 96827 55923 919
Total Assets176 861102 95077 70052 363
Current Liabilities115 43846 78631 67020 173
Non-Current Liabilities32 17133 11141 47542 434
Total Liabilities147 60979 89873 14562 607
Total Net Assets29 25223 0524 555(10 244)
Total Revenue119 86991 52387 69879 102
Revenue from Exchange Transactions7 7446 94519 581n/a
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactions112 12584 57868 117n/a
Total Expenditure(113 080)(88 224)(82 396)(82 972)
Employee Costs(54 984)(53 357)(54 190)(50 641)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Year6 2001 9665 947(3 878)
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activities75 2018 70928 485(182)
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activities(2 777)(2 270)(7 017)(5 347)
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Year127 78655 36248 92327 455
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure9 4241 8271 269734
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure7581 249-
Posts Approved220200181n/a
Posts Filled196175181n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Cape Town International Convention Centre
South African Property Owners Association
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)