Department: National Treasury

Contact Details

Physical: 40 Church Square, Pretoria, 0002
Postal: Private Bag X115, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 315 5111
Fax: 012 315 5126


The mission of the Department of the National Treasury is to promote economic development, good governance, social progress and rising living standards through accountable, economic, efficient, equitable and sustainable management of South Africa's public finances.

The National Treasury's legislative mandate is also described in the Public Finance Management Act. The National Treasury is mandated to: promote government's fiscal policy framework; coordinate macroeconomic policy and intergovernmental financial relations; manage the budget preparation process; facilitate the Division of Revenue Act, which provides for an equitable distribution of nationally raised revenue between national, provincial and local government; and monitor the implementation of provincial budgets. As mandated by the executive and Parliament, the National Treasury will continue to support the optimal allocation and utilisation of financial resources in all spheres of government to reduce poverty and vulnerability among South Africa's most marginalised.

The National Treasury's priorities include: increasing investment in infrastructure and industrial capital; improving education and skills development to raise productivity; improving the regulation of markets and public entities; and fighting poverty and inequality through efficient public service delivery, expanded employment levels, income support and empowerment.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr M Gigaba
Deputy Minister
Mr S Buthelezi
Director General
Mr D Mogajane

Mr Malusi Gigaba (Minister of Finance)
Deputy Minister:
Mr Sifiso Buthelezi
Director General:
Mr Dondo Mogajane (DG and DDG: Public Finance)
Mrs Vuyiswa Frans (Personal Assistant: Minister)
Ms Lindiwe Mathada (Personal Assistant: Deputy Minister)
Ms Felicitas Mogase (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Samuel Mandiwa
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Silindile Kubheka
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Schalk Human (Acting: Chief Procurement Office)
Mr Anthony Julies (Asset and Liability Management)
Mr Stadi Mngomezulu (Corporate Services)
Mr Ismail Momoniat (Tax and Financial Sector Policy)
Mr Jayce Nair (Acting: Office of the Accountant General)
Ms Malijeng Ngqaleni (Intergovernmental Relations)
Mr Monale Ratsoma (Economic Policy and Acting: International and Regional Economic Policy)
Mr Michael Sachs (Budget Office)
Senior Management:
Mr Huntly Pringle (Director: Office of the DG)
Communications Officers:
Ms Daleen Marais (Director: Publications, Projects and Events Management)
Ms Ntsakisi Maswanganyi (Director: Media Management)
Mr Oscar Mosiane (Social Media)
Mr Mayihlome Tshwete (Spokesperson: Minister)
Ms Yolisa Tyantsi (Acting Head: Communications)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation34 699 99032 396 80129 015 84921 177 604
Actual Expenditure28 760 82526 263 36425 162 34521 045 419
Employee Compensation732 742671 461631 540589 747
Goods and Services1 093 166858 473892 484820 487
Capital Assets33 21020 12421 65019 897
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure--9 068115
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure--1-
Posts Approved1 3391 2841 345n/a
Posts Filled1 2181 1991 209n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
FNB Public Sector Banking
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
Human Resource Development Council of South Africa
International Pre-University College
UKZN Extended Learning