South African National Space Agency (SANSA)

Contact Details

Physical: Enterprise Building, Mark Shuttleworth Street, Innovation Hub, Pretoria, 0087
Postal: PO Box 484, Silverton, 0127
Tel: 012 844 0500
Fax: 012 844 0396


The mission of the South African National Space Agency (SANSA) is to: deliver space-related services and products to the citizens of South Africa and the region; support, guide and conduct research and development in space science and engineering, and the practical application of the innovations they generate; stimulate interest in science and develop human capacity in space science and technologies in South Africa; create an environment that promotes industrial development; and nurture space-related partnerships to enhance South Africa's standing in the community of nations.

SANSA has five strategic programmes: SANSA Corporate Support Programme – ensures that SANSA functions optimally, with good corporate governance and operational efficiency within the Agency; Earth Observation Programme – focuses on utilisation of space to address day-to-day societal needs, including resource and environmental management, disaster management, food security, global change monitoring, health, safety and security, planning, development, and service delivery monitoring; Space Science Programme – drives scientific enquiry, knowledge creation, technology development and innovation; Space Operations Programme – the vehicle through which SANSA interfaces with space assets and supports the international space industry and, by so doing, elevates the country in the community of space-faring nations; and Space Engineering Programme – drives the maintenance of its satellite manufacturing capability to ensure a level of self-reliance and develop local technologies and skills.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms J Lawrence
Chief Executive Officer
Dr S Malinga

Ms Joy-Marie Lawrence
Deputy Chairperson:
Board Members:
Mr Vincent Gore
Simphiwe Hamilton
Mr Eugene Jansen
Gabo Esthe Kambule
Potlaki Maine
Matsie Matooane
Mbali Mfeka
Dr Nozi Mjoli
Ashley Naidoo
Mr Johan Prinsloo
Prof Bharuthram Ramashwar
Mr Marius Rezelman
Mmuso Riba
Mr Willie van Biljon
Chief Executive Officer:
Dr Sandile Malinga
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Bulelwa Pono
Senior Management:
Ms Lorraine Harrison (Board Secretary)
Mr Raoul Hodges (Managing Director: SANSA Space Operations)
Mr Amal Khatri (Executive Director: Space Programme)
Dr Lee-Anne McKinnell (Managing Director: SANSA Space Science)
Mr Zweli Ndziba (Executive Director: Corporate Services)
Dr Jane Olwoch (Managing Director: SANSA Earth Observation)
Communications Officers:
Vaneshree Maharaj (Corporate Communications Manager)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Current Assetsn/a199 397145 998143 057
Non-Current Assetsn/a279 597192 88113 019
Total Assetsn/a478 994338 879273 076
Current Liabilitiesn/a155 554125 426100 350
Non-Current Liabilitiesn/a5 8929 178103
Total Liabilitiesn/a161 446134 603100 453
Total Net Assetsn/a317 549204 276172 623
Total Revenuen/a338 604239 694214 740
Revenue from Exchange Transactionsn/a106 16376 10877 136
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactionsn/a232 441163 586137 604
Total Expendituren/a(225 331)(208 041)(199 695)
Employee Costsn/a(96 046)(93 020)(74 619)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Yearn/a113 27331 65315 045
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activitiesn/a173 85176 09671 124
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activitiesn/a(113 533)(87 461)(46 435)
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Yearn/a178 459123 229120 642
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a-166-
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a-13-
Posts Approvedn/an/an/a169
Posts Filledn/an/a181148
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report
NoteNot audited by AGSA. Independent Audit ReportNot audited by AGSA. Independent Audit Report.Not audited by AGSA. Independent Audit Report.

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
South African Property Owners Association
Regent Business School
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd