Department: Public Works

Contact Details

Postal Private Bag X65, Pretoria, 0001
Physical 256 Madiba Street, Pretoria
Tel 012 406 1000


The mission of the Department of Public Works is to promote the government's objectives of economic development, good governance and raising living standards and prosperity through providing and managing the accommodation and infrastructure needs of national departments, by leading the national Expanded Public Works Programme (EPWP) and transformation of the construction and property industries.

In pursuit of this objective, the Department endeavours to: efficiently manage the asset life cycle of immovable assets under the Department's custodianship; provide expert advice to all three spheres of government and parastatals on immovable assets; contribute to the national goals of job creation and poverty alleviation through programme management, leading and directing public works programmes nationally, of which the Expanded Public Works Programme forms an integral part; and provide strategic leadership to the construction and property industries.

Reporting Entities

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.