Department: Rural Development and Land Reform

Contact Details

Physical: 184 Cnr Jeff Masemola & Paul Kruger Streets, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X833, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 312 8911
Fax: 012 312 8066


The mission of the Department of Rural Development and Land Reform is to initiate, facilitate, coordinate, catalyse and implement an integrated rural development programme.

The Department's strategic objectives are: corporate governance and service excellence through compliance with the legal framework; land administration and spatial planning for integrated and sustainable growth and development, with a bias towards rural areas; equitable access to and sustainable use of land for development; improved rural services to support sustainable livelihoods; improved access to sustainable employment and skills development opportunities; promotion of economically, socially and environmentally viable rural enterprises and industries; and restoration of land rights.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr G Nkwinti
Deputy Minister
Ms C Mashego-Dlamini
Deputy Minister
Mr M Skwatsha
Director General
Ms L Archary

Mr Gugile Nkwinti
Deputy Minister:
Ms Candith Mashego-Dlamini (Rural Development)
Mr Mcebisi Skwatsha (Land Reform)
Director General:
Ms Leona Archary (Acting DG, Acting DDG: Rural Enterprise Infrastructure Development, and DDG: Rural Infrastructure Development)
Ms Debbie Khan (Executive Assistant: Director General)
Ms Marguerite Liebenburg (Private Secretary: Land Reform)
Mr Negro Mashigo (Private Secretary: Rural Development)
Ms Nomava Notshe (Secretary: Minister)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Errol Heynes
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Rendani Sadiki
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Carlize Knoesen (Chief Registrar of Deeds)
Dr Nozizwe Makgalemele (Spatial Planning and Land Use Management)
Ms Vuyiswa Nxasana (Acting: Land Tenure and Administration)
Mr Mmuso Riba (Chief Surveyor General)
Mr Eugene Southgate (Corporate Support Services)
Mr Bonginkosi Zulu (Acting: Land Redistribution and Development)
Senior Management:
Mr Masiphula Mbongwa (Ministry, and Director: Rural Poverty Reduction)
Adv Vela Mngwengwe (Acting Land Tenure and Administration)
Adv Vela Mngwengwe (Chief Director: Property Management and Advisory Services)
Ms Nomonde Mnukwa (Chief Director: Corporate Services and Acting Chief Director: Strategic Communication)
Mr Sidney Sikhosana (Head of Office)
Mr Anton van Staden (Chief Director: NARYSEC)
Communications Officers:
Mr Michael Bembe (Parliamentary Liaison Officer: Rural Development)
Ms Nomonde Mnukwa (Acting Chief Director: Communication Services)
Ms Linda Page (Spokesperson)
Mr Themba Sikhutshwa (Parliamentary Liaison Officer: Land Reform)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation9 287 7899 573 0609 572 2718 974 085
Actual Expenditure9 140 1779 407 6599 457 4028 923 436
Employee Compensation1 937 1591 791 5591 541 2611 745 407
Goods and Services1 396 2651 342 4642 175 1531 398 876
Capital Assets3 551 3393 563 034254 463124 283
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure4 45625 28612 6475 688
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure11 8566 0735 41735 678
Posts Approved6 4536 4586 741n/a
Posts Filled5 7595 7985 591n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Human Resource Development Council of South Africa
Cranefield College of Project and Programme Management
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
FNB Public Sector Banking
RCM School of Excellence