The Presidency

Contact Details

Physical: Union Buildings, Government Avenue, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X1000, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 300 5200
Fax: 012 323 8246


The Presidency is comprised of four political principals: the President, who is the Head of State and Government; the Deputy President, who is the Leader of Government Business (in Parliament); the Minister of the National Planning Commission; and the Minister of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation. The Presidency has three structures, which support governance operations directly: the Cabinet Office; Policy Coordination and Advisory Services (PCAS); and Legal and Executive Services.

The Presidency's key role in the executive management and coordination of government lies in its responsibility to organise governance. In this regard, a key aim is the facilitation of an integrated and coordinated approach to governance. This is achieved through creative, cross-sectoral thinking on policy issues, and the enhancement of the alignment of sectoral priorities with the national strategic policy framework and other government priorities.

The mission of The Presidency is to support the President, the Deputy President and other political principals within The Presidency to execute their responsibilities, as outlined in the Constitution and the programme of government. The Presidency's strategic outcome-orientated goals are to: lead in integrated planning and in the performance monitoring and oversight of government policies and programmes; support the President and Deputy President in exercising their constitutional responsibilities to promote national unity and social cohesion; and assist the President and the Deputy President in advancing the interests of South Africa in the international arena.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr JG Zuma
Deputy President
Mr MC Ramaphosa
Director General
Dr CR Lubisi

Mr Jacob Gedleyihlekisa Zuma
Deputy President:
Mr Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa
Mr Jeffrey Thamsanqa Radebe (Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation)
Ms Susan Shabangu (Women)
Deputy Minister:
Mr Buti Kgwaridi Manamela (Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation, Youth Development, and Administration)
Director General:
Dr Cassius Reginald Lubisi (Secretary: the Cabinet)
Nokukhanya Kubheka (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Ms Malebo Sibiya (Private Secretary: Deputy President)
Chief Operations Officer:
Ms Lakela Kaunda
Deputy Directors General:
Busani Ngcaweni (Office of the Deputy President)
Ms Ntoeng Sekhoto (Private Secretary: President)
Senior Management:
Ms Charmaine Fredricks (Chief Director: Support Services)
Communications Officers:
Bongani Majola (Chief Director: Communications)
Mr Ronnie Mamoepa (Media Liaison and Spokesperson: Deputy President)
Bongani Ngqulunga (Spokesperson: President)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation485 560692 3501 095 6851 064 598
Actual Expenditure475 905636 3971 033 106988 792
Employee Compensation295 098286 803280 603260 354
Goods and Services136 274146 419183 870166 703
Capital Assets38 79315 30114 67412 063
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure4 061-4 336476
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure--283-
Posts Approved689717742n/a
Posts Filled645668680n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
FNB Public Sector Banking
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
Cape Town International Convention Centre
UKZN Extended Learning