National Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIHSS)

Contact Details

Physical: 2nd Floor, 24 St Andrews Street, Johannesburg, Parktown, Gauteng, 2193
Postal: Postnet Suite 413, Private Bag X30500, Houghton, 2041
Tel: 011 480 2300


The National Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIHSS) was formally established in December 2013 as the result of extensive work towards drafting the 2011 Charter for Humanities and Social Sciences.

The overall mandate of the NIHSS is to develop and set up the institutional and logistical framework for the envisioned higher education institution for the Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS). The role of the Institute is, broadly, to enhance and support the HSS in South Africa and beyond, and to advise government and civil society on HSS related matters. It does so through its various programmes, including the Catalytic Projects, the Doctoral Schools and the African Pathways Programme, and through supporting the DHET in the implementation of the proposed corrective interventions.

Further functions of the NIHSS include: providing services to the higher education sphere within the HSS; advancing learning within its specific scope or application by ensuring collaboration or collaboration of the work of higher education institutions; and advising the Minister on matters relating to its specific scope or application, or to higher education generally.

Office Bearers/Management

Prof A Sitas
Chief Executive Officer
Prof S Mosoetsa

Prof Ari Sitas
Deputy Chairperson:
Board Members:
Mr Ivor Baatjes
Prof Ahmed Bawa
Ms Luli Callinicos
Dr Pamela Maseko
Mr Alex Mohubetswane Mashilo
Prof Rosemary Moeketsi
Prof Sarah Mosoetsa (CEO)
Dr Ndanduleni B Nthambeleni
Mr John Pampallis
Prof Fiona Tregenna
Chief Executive Officer:
Prof Sarah Mosoetsa
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Tumelo Mokoena (Acting)
Senior Management:
Dr Ndivhuwo Luruli (Acting Director: BRICS)
Mr Petros Mashaba (HR Administrator)
Dr Sibonginkosi Mazibuko (Academic Director: Research)
Ms Thandeka Mngadi (Senior Manager: Corporate Services)
Dr Nthabiseng Motsemme (Academic Director: Scholarships)
Ms Zandile Nene (Senior Manager: Corporate Governance)
Communications Officers:
Mr Musa Maphalakasi
Mr Kambale Muhongya (Information Officer and Webmaster)
Ms Busi Pilane (Senior Communication and Marketing Manager)

Financial Information

AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedNew Auditee

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

    The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
    Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
    Applied Satellite Technology Systems
    Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
    South African Property Owners Association
    BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd