Universities South Africa (USAf)

Contact Details

Physical: Cnr Rissik & Steve Biko Streets, Sunnyside, Pretoria
Postal: PO Box 27392, Sunnyside, Pretoria, 0132
Tel: 012 481 2821
Fax: 012 481 2843/50


Universities South Africa (USAf), formerly known as Higher Education South Africa (HESA), is a membership organisation representing South Africa’s universities. Its mandate is to: influence and contribute to policy positions regarding higher education; advocate and campaign for an adequately funded university sector; facilitate effective dialogue among universities, government, business, parliament and other stakeholders on issues affecting universities; coordinate sector-wide engagement on major issues (e.g. transformation, differentiation, internationalisation); commission and disseminate research on key issues with implications for universities; provide value-adding services to member institutions; speak on behalf of universities on major issues with implications for their well-being; and strengthen the creation of a Higher Education Governance System based on the principles of cooperative governance, institutional autonomy and academic freedom.

Office Bearers/Management

Prof AM Habib
Chief Executive Officer
Prof AC Bawa

Prof Adam Mahomed Habib
Deputy Chairperson:
Dr Max Price
Board Members:
Prof Yunus Ballim
Prof Sakhela Buhlungu
Prof Chris de Beer
Prof Henk de Jager
Prof Cheryl de la Rey
Prof Wim de Villiers
Prof Dan Kgwadi
Dr Sizwe Mabizela
Prof Mandlenkosi S Makhanya
Prof Thoko Mayekiso
Prof Amunga Peter Mbati
Prof John Midgley
Prof Nehemia M Mokgalong
Prof Irene Nomhle Moutlana
Prof Thandwa Mthembu
Prof Xoliswa Mtose
Prof Francis Petersen
Prof Tirone Pretorius
Prof MM Ramogale
Prof Ihron Lester Rensburg
Prof Derrick Ian Swartz
Dr Albert van Jaarsveld
Prof Lourens van Staden
Prof John Volmink
Chief Executive Officer:
Prof Ahmed Cassim Bawa
Chief Financial Officer:
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:

Overseeing Department/Entity

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at info@nationalgovernment.co.za so that we can correct them.
Cranefield College of Project and Programme Management
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
Maluti TVET College
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
Railway Safety Regulator