Department: Telecommunications and Postal Services

Contact Details

Physical: iParioli Office Park, 1166 Park Street, Hatfield, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X860, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 427 8000
Fax: 012 427 8110


The mission of the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services is to build a better life for all through an enabling and sustainable world-class information and communication technologies environment.

The Department's strategic outcome-orientated goals are to: enable the maximisation of investment in the Information and Communications Technology (ICT) sector and create new competitive business opportunities for the growth of the ICT industry for socio-economic development; ensure that ICT infrastructure is accessible, robust, reliable, affordable and secure to meet the needs of the country and its people; accelerate the socio-economic development of South Africans and facilitate the building of an inclusive information society through partnerships with business and civil society, and the three spheres of government; improve departmental performance and enhance the role of ICT State-Owned Enterprises (SOEs) as the delivery arms of government; and contribute to the global ICT agenda prioritising Africa's development.

Office Bearers/Management

Dr S Cwele
Deputy Minister
Ms S Ndabeni-Abrahams
Director General
Mr R Nkuna

Dr Siyabonga Cwele
Deputy Minister:
Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Director General:
Mr Robert Nkuna
Ms Tebogo Mathebula (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Ms Dumisiwe Mkize (Personal Assistant: Deputy Minister)
Ms Claude Nadasen (Personal Assistant: Minister)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Frans Mthombeni
Chief Financial Officer:
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Gift Buthelezi (International Affairs)
Ms Reneva Fourie (ICT Information, Society Development and Research)
Mr Sibongile Makopi (Enterprise and SOC Oversight)
Mr Tinyiko Ngobeni (ICT Infrastructure Support)
Mr Themba Phiri (ICT Policy and Strategy)
Mr Sam Vilakazi (Administration)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Lwando Mahlasela (Media Liaison Officer: Deputy Minister)
Mr Siya Qoza (Media Liaison Officer: Minister)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation3 248 82328 209 6883 908 6614 084 059
Actual Expenditure2 075 6921 300 0972 181 6762 362 786
Employee Compensation205 248181 693183 930169 682
Goods and Services153 605230 427234 385597 884
Capital Assets9 2995 48110 4182 726
Unauthorised Expenditure---4 741
Irregular Expenditure2 61527 3521 18228 640
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure164621749
Posts Approved304333340n/a
Posts Filled295275301n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Maluti TVET College
Human Resource Development Council of South Africa
South African Property Owners Association
African Utility Week