Department: Tourism

Contact Details

Physical: Tourism House, 17 Trevenna Street, Sunnyside, 0002
Postal: Private Bag X424, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 444 6000 / 0860 121 929
Fax: 012 444 7000


The Department of Tourism is mandated under the Tourism Act 3 of 2014 to: promote the practise of responsible tourism for the benefit of the country and for the enjoyment of all its residents and foreign visitors; provide for the effective domestic and international marketing of South Africa as a tourist destination; promote quality tourism products and services; promote growth in and development of the tourism sector; and enhance cooperation and coordination between all spheres of government in developing and managing tourism.

The National Development Plan (NDP) is the 2030 vision for the country. It recognises tourism as one of the main drivers of employment and economic growth. Tourism is also positioned as one of the six core pillars of growth in the country’s New Growth Path (NGP) framework. The National Tourism Sector Strategy (NTSS) provides a blueprint for the tourism sector in the pursuit of growth targets contained in the NGP. Through the Department’s NTSS, the tourism sector is committed to creating a total of 225 000 jobs by the year 2020.

The Department’s objectives include ensuring that benefits of tourism are equitably shared amongst the people of South Africa, and planning for the empowerment of youth, women, and people with disabilities through entrepreneurial participation and opportunities. The Department's focus is on increasing competitiveness within the tourism sector in South Africa.

In the medium term, the Department aims to increase investment in the tourism sector, increase inbound tourism, entrench a culture of tourism amongst South Africans, and increase the sector’s contribution to job creation and economic growth.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms T Xasa
Deputy Minister
Ms E Thabethe
Director General
Mr V Tharage

Ms Tokozile Xasa
Deputy Minister:
Ms Elizabeth Thabethe
Director General:
Mr Victor Tharage
Ms Belinda Benadie (Private Secretary: Minister)
Chief of Staff:
Ms Nomzamo Bhengu (Acting)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Ralph Ackermann
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Shamilla Chettiar (Destination Development)
Ms Morongoe Ramphele (Tourism Sector Support Services)
Senior Management:
Ms Lulama Duma (Corporate Management)
Mr Thabo Makhubedu (Head of Office: Director General)
Ms Nonzwakazi Sifanele (Head of Office: Deputy Minister)
Ms Melanie Titus (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)
Communications Officers:
Ms Susan de Bruin (Acting Chief Director: Communications)
Mr Praveen Naidoo (Media Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation1 800 9481 596 3641 524 7831 374 143
Actual Expenditure1 777 3941 562 3941 512 6671 371 959
Employee Compensation252 906231 504202 371171 205
Goods and Services199 712229 282138 434116 000
Capital Assets93 41312 81611 6299 864
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure39--34
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure915712648108
Posts Approved535546544n/a
Posts Filled505513472n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
FNB Public Sector Banking
Maqhilika Timber Pty (Ltd)
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
International Pre-University College