Department: Trade and Industry (the dti)

Contact Details

Physical: 77 Meintjies Street, Sunnyside, Pretoria, 0002
Postal: Private Bag X84, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 086 184 3384
Fax: 086 184 3888


The mission of the Department of Trade and Industry (the dti) is to promote structural transformation, towards a dynamic industrial and globally competitive economy; provide a predictable, competitive, equitable and socially responsible environment, conducive to investment, trade and enterprise development; broaden participation in the economy to strengthen economic development; and continually improve the skills and capabilities of the dti to effectively deliver on its mandate and respond to the needs of South Africa's economic citizens.

The Department's strategic objectives are to: facilitate transformation of the economy to promote industrial development, investment, competitiveness and employment creation; build mutually beneficial regional and global relations to advance South Africa's trade, industrial policy and economic development objectives; facilitate broad-based economic participation through targeted interventions to achieve more inclusive growth; create a fair regulatory environment that enables investment, trade and enterprise development in an equitable and socially responsible manner; and promote a professional, ethical, dynamic, competitive and customer-focused working environment that ensures effective and efficient service delivery.

Office Bearers/Management

Dr R Davies
Deputy Minister
Mr G Magwanishe
Director General
Mr L October

Dr Rob Davies
Deputy Minister:
Mr Gratitude Magwanishe
Director General:
Mr Lionel October
Ms Nkosazana Khosi Mkefa (Personal Assistant: Minister)
Ms Ellen Msiza (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Ms Inze Neethling (Private Secretary: Minister)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Moosa Ebrahim
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Shabeer Khan
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Sarah Choane (Group Systems and Support Services Division)
Mr Stephen Hanival (Chief Economist)
Mr Yunus Hoosen (Head: Investment Promotion and Interdepartmental Clearing House; and Acting Head: InvestSA)
Ms Malebo Mabitje-Thompson (Industrial Development Incentive Administration Division)
Ms Xolelwa Mlumbi (International Trade and Economic Development Division)
Ms Pumla Ncapayi (Export Promotion Trade and Investment South Africa)
Mr McDonald Netshitenzhe (Acting: Consumer and Corporate Regulation Division)
Mr Garth Strachan (Industrial Development: Policy Development Division)
Mr Sipho Zikode (SEZ Economic Transformation Division)
Senior Management:
Mr Thembinkosi Josopu (Head of Office: Deputy Minister)
Ms Jodi Scholtz (Chief Operations Officer)
Communications Officers:
Mr Sidwell Medupe (Departmental Spokesperson)
Ms Desiree Ntshingila (Chief Director: Marketing)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation9 738 39710 084 4459 653 0328 351 086
Actual Expenditure9 617 2789 833 6279 448 0008 366 693
Employee Compensation874 175889 062789 345671 550
Goods and Services611 477654 432690 355592 838
Capital Assets37 43321 54418 65640 495
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure591 1996 37632 966
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure-372211
Posts Approved1 4241 5301 419n/a
Posts Filled1 2971 4101 286n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Maluti TVET College
FNB Public Sector Banking
South African Property Owners Association
Cape Town International Convention Centre