Department: Transport (DOT)

Contact Details

Physical: Forum Building, 159 Struben Street, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X193, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 309 3000/3657
Fax: 012 328 3370


The mission of the Department of Transport (DOT) is to lead the development of integrated efficient transport systems by creating a framework of sustainable policies, regulations and implementable models to support government strategies for economic, social and international development.

The objectives that the Department aims to achieve by providing policy framework, regulation and implementation models are: competitive transport costs; safety and security improvements; a reduction in infrastructure backlogs; improvement in access; and a reduction of time in transit.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr J Maswanganyi
Deputy Minister
Ms S Chikunga
Director General
Mr M Mokonyama

Mr Joe Maswanganyi
Deputy Minister:
Ms Sindisiwe Chikunga
Director General:
Mr Mathabatha Mokonyama (Acting)
Ms Lavhe Edith Mulangaphuma (Private Secretary: Minister)
Ms Jabulile Nkosi (Private Secretary: Deputy Minister)
Ms Michelle Phenya (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Tankiso Molekane
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr CP Letsoalo
Deputy Directors General:
Mr BC Hlabisa (Road Transport)
Mr MN Mokonyama (Public Transport)
Mr Themba Tenza (Acting Integrated Transport Planning)
Mr ZG Thwala (Civil Aviation)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Jomo Khasu (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)
Mr Ismail Mnisi (Ministerial Spokesperson)
Mr Sam Monareng (Acting Director: Communications and Media)
Ms Shanitha Singh (Deputy Director: Administration)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEAudit not FinalisedQualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a53 825 01249 092 77643 148 634
Actual Expendituren/a53 320 78749 147 09843 036 844
Employee Compensationn/a382 866345 900304 359
Goods and Servicesn/a701 3511 059 1551 692 167
Capital Assetsn/a13 86634 98419 859
Unauthorised Expendituren/a-392 842768 355
Irregular Expendituren/a1 559101 3441 121 695
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a1159620
Posts Approvedn/a862862822
Posts Filledn/a693671613
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
South African Property Owners Association
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
Maqhilika Timber Pty (Ltd)
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers