Department: Water and Sanitation

Contact Details

Physical: Sedibeng Building, 185 Francis Baard Street, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X313, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 336 8387
Fax: 012 336 8664


The mission of the Department of Water and Sanitation is to serve the people of South Africa by: making a positive impact on the country and its people as custodians of its water and sanitation resources, and as innovative and committed partners in the drive for sustainable development; being service- and delivery-orientated; leading its sector and enabling partners with the knowledge and capacity to ensure that all water services are delivered; being committed to innovation and using cutting-edge technology as a catalyst for positive change, connecting its people and enabling them to work anywhere, anytime; and having a heart that values its investment in its people. The Department provides them with a caring and trusting environment that encourages personal development and is a breeding ground for talent.

The Department's strategic goals are: to be an efficient, effective and development-orientated sector leader; equitable and sustainable provision of raw water; provision of equitable and sustainable water services of acceptable quantity and quality; and protection of freshwater ecosystems.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms NP Mokonyane
Deputy Minister
Ms P Tshwete
Director General
Mr DMG Mashitisho

Ms Nomvula Paula Mokonyane
Deputy Minister:
Ms Pamela Tshwete
Director General:
Mr Dan Metlana Gorbachev Mashitisho
Ms Sandy Thomas (Personal Assistant: Minister)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Colin Pitso
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms ONV Fundakubi (Acting Chief Operations Officer)
Deputy Directors General:
Ms L Lusenga (International Water Cooperation)
Mr JD Mahlangu (Corporate Services)
Ms Z Mathe (Natural Water Resource Infrastructure)
Ms D Mochotlhi (Planning and Information)
Ms Matlakala Motloung (Communication Services)
Adv A Singh (Regulation and Compliance)
Senior Management:
Ms Pam Tshwete (Head of Office: Deputy Minister)
Communications Officers:
Ms Nomvulo Khalo (Media Liaison Officer)
Mr Sputnik Ratau (Director: Media Liaison)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedQualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriation15 545 56115 757 53813 662 73410 448 592
Actual Expenditure15 635 43815 556 97411 616 68210 253 330
Employee Compensation1 439 9451 360 3691 275 7051 112 336
Goods and Services1 699 9291 535 439318 8111 360 873
Capital Assets5 013 3307 571 4384 432 1643 806 991
Unauthorised Expenditure406 923---
Irregular Expenditure1 683 8141 710 461423 45385 935
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure14 06612 5501 5451 702
Posts Approved7 1914 8008 8048 365
Posts Filled6 0243 9747 4657 336
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
International Pre-University College
FNB Public Sector Banking
Maluti TVET College
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
South African Property Owners Association