Department: Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF)

Contact Details

Physical: 20 Steve Biko (formerly Beatrix) Street, Arcadia, Pretoria, 0002
Postal: Private Bag X250, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 319 6000
Fax: 012 319 6681


The mission of the Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF) is to advance food security and agrarian transformation in the agricultural sector through innovative, inclusive and sustainable policies and programmes.

The Department's strategic goals are: increased profitable production of food, fibre and timber products by all categories of producers; sustained management of natural resources; effective national regulatory services and risk management systems; a transformed and united sector; increased contribution of the sector to economic growth and development; and effective and efficient governance.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr S Zokwana
Deputy Minister
Gen B Cele
Director General
Mr M Mlengana

Mr Senzeni Zokwana
Deputy Minister:
Gen Bheki Cele
Director General:
Mr MM Mlengana
Ms Sharon Marie Karen Gaehler (Private Secretary: Deputy Minister)
Ms Zukiswa Thebe (Private Secretary: Minister)
Chief of Staff:
Ms Thandeka Dlamini (Chief of Staff: Minister and DG: Support Services)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Jacob Hlatshwayo
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Elaine Alexander (Economic Development, Trade and Marketing)
Mr Joe Kgobokoe (Policy, Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation)
Mr Mortimer Mannya (Food Security and Agrarian Reform)
Ms Siphokazi Ndudane (Fisheries Management)
Mr Sipho Ntombela (Corporate Services)
Mr RM Ramasodi (Agricultural Production, Health and Food Safety)
Dr MP Rampedi (Forestry and Natural Resources Management)
Senior Management:
Ms Bafedile Bopape (CD: Policy Development and Planning)
Ms Phindiwe Dingile (CD: International Relations and Trade)
Mr Rodney Dredge (CD: Monitoring and Evaluation)
Ms Kgomotso Kgang (CD: Human Resources Management and Development)
Ms Kwena Komape (CD: Cooperative and Rural Enterprise Development)
Ms Zoliswa Lufele (CD: Financial Management)
Ms Makenosi Maroo (CD: Stakeholder Relations and Communications)
Ms Alicia Stevens (CD: Operations Support)
Communications Officers:
Ms Bomikazi Molapo (Media Liaison Officer)
Ms Priscilla Tsotso Sehoole (Chief Information Officer)
Ms Renee Thompson (Parliamentary Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation6 621 9286 884 6176 992 0045 868 927
Actual Expenditure6 400 9726 631 5306 120 2035 814 559
Employee Compensation1 761 1161 661 5961 525 0241 419 116
Goods and Services714 755732 095746 426729 591
Capital Assets218 466205 970200 206170 701
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure8292 6877 8081 229
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure11996382
Posts Approved6 2016 7436 780n/a
Posts Filled5 5815 8676 117n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
RCM School of Excellence
Cape Town International Convention Centre
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
Cranefield College of Project and Programme Management
Maqhilika Timber Pty (Ltd)