Supreme Court of Appeal

Contact Details

Physical: Cnr Elizabeth & President Brand Streets, Bloemfontein, 9301
Postal: PO Box 258, Bloemfontein, 9300
Tel: 051 412 7400
Fax: 051 412 7449


The Supreme Court of Appeal is, except in respect of certain labour and competition matters, the second highest court in South Africa. Previously it and the Constitutional Court were both 'apex courts’ with different areas of jurisdiction. However, since August 2013 the Constitutional Court has been the highest court in all matters.

In terms of the Constitution, the Supreme Court of Appeal may decide any matter, except certain labour and competition matters, but is purely an appeal court, and it may decide only appeals and issues connected with appeals.

The Supreme Court of Appeal may make an order concerning the constitutional validity of an Act of Parliament, a provincial Act or any conduct of the President, but an order of constitutional invalidity has no force unless it is confirmed by the Constitutional Court.

Office Bearers/Management

President Supreme Court of Appeal
Judge MML Maya

President Supreme Court of Appeal:
Judge Mandisa Muriel Lindelwa Maya
Deputy President Supreme Court of Appeal:
Judge A Cachalia
Judge N Dambuza
Judge LE Leach
Judge CH Lewis
Judge RS Mathopo
Judge BH Mbha
Judge MS Navsa
Judge XM Petse
Judge R Pillay
Judge VM Ponnan
Judge H Saldulker
Judge WL Seriti
Judge JBZ Shongwe
Judge KGB Swain
Judge L Theron
Judge ZLL Tshiqi
Judge MJD Wallis
Senior Management:
Ms CA Martin (Director: Supreme Court of Appeal)
Communications Officers:
Mr PSW Myburgh

Overseeing Department/Entity

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Applied Satellite Technology Systems
Maqhilika Timber Pty (Ltd)
Cape Town International Convention Centre
South African Property Owners Association
RCM School of Excellence