Department: Basic Education (DBE)

Contact Details

Physical: Sol Plaatje House, 222 Struben Street, Pretoria
Postal: Private Bag X895, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 012 357 3000
Fax: 012 323 0601/6260


The vision of the Department of Basic Education (DBE) is of a South Africa in which all people have access to lifelong learning, as well as education and training, which will, in turn, contribute towards improving quality of life and building a peaceful, prosperous and democratic South Africa.

The Department's strategic goals are: effective and efficient governance and management; effective development, monitoring of curriculum implementation and support; improved teacher supply, development and utilisation; effective systems for planning, coordination, information management, assessment and district support; and improved social cohesion in schools and well-being of learners.

Office Bearers/Management

Mrs MA Motshekga
Deputy Minister
Mr ME Surty
Director General
Mr HM Mweli

Mrs Matsie Angelina Motshekga
Deputy Minister:
Mr Mohamed Enver Surty
Director General:
Mr Hubert Mathanzima Mweli
Ms Ipeleng Kgari (Personal Assistant: Deputy Minister)
Mr Steve Mabua (Private Secretary: Minister)
Ms Nomathemba Tom (Acting Personal Assistant: Director General)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Paul Sehlabelo
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Ntsetsa Molalekoa
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Vivienne Carelse (Office of the Director General)
Mr Themba Kojana (Teachers, HR and Institutional Development)
Dr Mamiki Maboya (Curriculum Policy, Support and Monitoring)
Dr Mpumi Mabula (Special Technical Advisor: Ministry)
Mr Paddy Padayachee (Planning, Information and Assessment)
Mr Anton Shoeman (Finance and Administration)
Ms Palesa Tyobeka (Planning and Delivery Oversight Unit)
Dr Granville Whittle (Acting DDG: Teachers, HR and Institutional Development and Acting DDG: Infrastructure)
Senior Management:
Dr Jennifer Joshua (Director: Office of the Director General)
Ms Mataole Ramohapi (Director: Office of the Director General)
Communications Officers:
Ms Troy Martens (Ministry Media Liaison Officer and Spokesperson)
Mr Elijah Mhlanga (Departmental Spokesperson)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation21 454 68019 826 59318 021 48216 203 994
Actual Expenditure20 985 56419 605 37117 382 27615 186 798
Employee Compensation439 472412 744371 722325 210
Goods and Services2 102 3161 948 9961 850 0841 690 567
Capital Assets1 387 7382 426 4561 388 532877 751
Unauthorised Expenditure131 8146 488--
Irregular Expenditure404 975726 549771 29982 808
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure44 30528--
Posts Approved796796796n/a
Posts Filled748748753n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Reporting Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
UKZN Extended Learning
Applied Satellite Technology Systems
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
Cranefield College of Project and Programme Management