Council on Higher Education (CHE)

Contact Details

Physical: 1 Quintin Brand Street, Persequor Technopark, Pretoria
Postal: PO Box 94, Persequor Park, 0020
Tel: 012 349 3840
Fax: 012 349 3942


The vision of the Council on Higher Education (CHE) is to be a dynamic organisation contributing to a transformed, equitable and quality higher education and training system in South Africa. Its mission as the independent statutory quality council for South African higher education, is to: lead and manage quality assurance; research and monitor trends and development; initiate critical discourse on contemporary higher education issues; and provide advice to the Minister on strategy and policy.

The main areas of work of the CHE are to: provide advice to the Minister of Higher Education and Training on all higher education matters on request, and proactively; promote a system of quality assurance for all higher education institutions, including private providers of higher education, which focuses on programme accreditation, institutional audits, national reviews, standards development, quality promotion and capacity development; monitor the state of higher education and publish information regarding developments in higher education on a regular basis; and contribute to the development of higher education through intellectual engagement with key issues in a number of activities in partnership with relevant stakeholders.

Office Bearers/Management

Prof T Mosia
Chief Executive Officer
Prof N Baijnath

Prof Themba Mosia
Council Members:
Mr Luzuko Buku
Prof Chris de Beer
Prof André Keet
Mr Casper Kruger
Prof Pamela Maseko
Dr Bandile Masuku
Prof Shireen Motala
Ms Nombulelo Nxesi
Dr Kimberly Porteus
Prof Selby Ripinga
Prof Mala Singh
Prof Beverly Thaver
Dr Mvuyo Tom
Chief Executive Officer:
Prof Narend Baijnath
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Thulaganyo Mothusi
Senior Management:
Prof Diane Grayson (Director: Institutional Audits)
Ms Vuyo Matsam (Director: Corporate Services)
Ms Olivia Mokgatle (Director: National Standards and Reviews)
Prof Kethamonie Naidoo (Director: Programme Accreditation)
Dr Amani Saidi (Director: Quality Assurance and Promotion Coordination)
Dr Denyse Webbstock (Director: Monitoring and Evaluation)
Communications Officers:
Mr Ntokozo Bhengu

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Current Assets15 42519 53620 25322 744
Non-Current Assets35 06836 32036 40329 769
Total Assets50 49355 85656 29652 513
Current Liabilities9 7176 9525 7572 688
Non-Current Liabilities7743 9925 2316 528
Total Liabilities10 49110 94510 9899 217
Total Net Assets40 00244 91245 30743 297
Total Revenue49 54248 74047 85845 457
Revenue from Exchange Transactions5 5054 8124 6734 354
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactions44 03743 92843 18541 102
Total Expenditure(54 452)(49 790)(50 762)(40 586)
Employee Costs(28 361)(25 036)(23 476)19 097
Surplus/(Deficit) for Year(4 910)(1 050)(2 904)4 871
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activities(2 975)1 1809605 038
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activities(1 322)(1 808)(3 254)(1 433)
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Year14 80519 10219 73022 025
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure----
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure321155317
Posts Approved525153n/a
Posts Filled444646n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS)
South African Property Owners Association
Maluti TVET College
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
Railway Safety Regulator