Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)

Contact Details

Physical: Headway Hill, 1258 Lever Road, Midrand
Postal: PO Box 1234, Halfway House, 1685
Tel: 011 313 3911
Fax: 011 313 3086


The mission of the Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA) is to advance the development impact in the region by expanding access to development finance, and effectively integrating and implementing sustainable development solutions.

The DBSA's purpose is to accelerate sustainable socio-economic development, and improve the quality of life of the people of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and, more recently, the whole of the African continent, by driving financial and non-financial investments in the social and economic infrastructure sectors: social infrastructure – infrastructure aimed at addressing backlogs and expediting the delivery of essential social services to support sustainable living conditions and a better quality of life within communities; and economic infrastructure – infrastructure aimed at addressing capacity constraints and bottlenecks in order to optimise economic growth potential and support regional integration. The DBSA has prioritised water, energy, transport and ICT as its key focus areas.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr J Moleketi
Chief Executive Officer
Mr P Dlamini

Mr Jabu Moleketi
Deputy Chairperson:
Mr Frans Baleni
Board Members:
Dr Lungile Bhengu-Baloyi
Mr Patrick Dlamini (CEO)
Ms Martjie Janse van Rensburg
Ms Busisiwe Mabuza
Ms Dawn Marole
Mr Arthur Moloto
Ms Gugu Mtetwa
Ms Kameshni Naidoo (CFO)
Ms Malijeng Ngqaleni
Ms Anuradha Sing
Prof Mark Swilling
Chief Executive Officer:
Mr Patrick Dlamini
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Kameshni Naidoo
Senior Management:
Mr Paul Currie (Group Chief Risk Officer)
Mr Ernest Dietrich (Group Executive: SA Financing)
Mr Michael Hillary (Group Executive: Financing Operations)
Ms Dolores Mashishi (Group Executive: Corporate Services)
Mr Moe Shaik (Group Executive: International Financing)
Ms Sinazo Sibisi (Group Executive: Infrastructure Delivery)
Mr Mohan Vivekanandan (Group Executive: Strategy)
Communications Officers:
Mr Johan Conradie (Acting Manager: Communications)
Nhlanhla Mbuli (PA: Office of the Group Executive)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Current Assetsn/an/an/an/a
Non-Current Assetsn/an/an/an/a
Total Assets82 345 99670 944 13963 825 54153 965 236
Current Liabilitiesn/an/an/an/a
Non-Current Liabilitiesn/an/an/an/a
Total Liabilities53 080 93747 261 45443 924 96837 259 511
Total Net Assets29 265 05923 682 68519 900 57316 705 725
Total Revenue8 396 0996 189 8845 434 8584 727 087
Revenue from Exchange Transactionsn/an/an/an/a
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactionsn/an/an/an/a
Total Expenditure(5 819 420)(4 975 743)(4 647 816)(5 553 001)
Employee Costs(730 937)(607 271)(561 597)(654 307)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Year2 576 6791 214 141787 042(825 914)
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activities3 025 3152 660 7561 955 167794 049
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activities167 432(730 188)319 67938 087
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Year2 084 5653 901 6634 135 6671 252 142
Unauthorised Expenditure---n/a
Irregular Expenditure---n/a
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure14321113n/a
Posts Approvedn/a628n/an/a
Posts Filledn/a547n/an/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report
NoteNot audited by AGSA. Independent Audit ReportNot audited by AGSA. Independent Audit Report.Not audited by AGSA. Independent Audit Report.Not audited by AGSA. Independent Audit Report.

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
UKZN Extended Learning
Cranefield College of Project and Programme Management
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes