Financial Services Board (FSB)

Contact Details

Postal PO Box 35655, Menlo Park, 0102
Physical Riverwalk Office Park, Block B, 41 Matroosberg Road, Ashlea Gardens, Extension 6, Pretoria, 0081
Tel 012 428 8000 / 0800 110 443
Fax 012 346 5616


The Financial Services Board's (FSB) mission is to promote the fair treatment of consumers of financial services and products; financial soundness of financial institutions; systemic stability of financial services industries; and integrity of financial markets and institutions.

The Board's strategic objectives are to: build internal capacity to supervise an outcome-based regulatory framework as opposed to the traditional compliance-based frameworks, which requires a new supervisory approach that is more pre-emptive, and skills to proactively identify emerging conduct risks (at macro and micro level); apply the regulatory and supervisory frameworks to a broader range of financial services, including banking (as part of the broader twin peaks migration); create an operational and effective framework, with annual milestones; assign elements of the national consumer education strategy assigned to the FSB; improve coordination and communication with all stakeholders through interaction to improve the service from regulated institutions; fully implement a stakeholder management programme; implement and maintain a communication, brand and reputation management strategy; ensure a regulatory framework in line with international standards; enforce compliance with legislation; effectively supervise financial service providers; ongoingly review the framework to identify gaps; effectively enforce legislative compliance; implement risk-based supervisory plans; adequately resource the FSB to deliver on the strategic plan; provide a comprehensive internal policy framework; provide effective systems and processes; and provide a knowledge management system for optimal performance.

Overseeing Department/Entity

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.