Department of Health (DoH)

Office Bearers/Management

Dr J Phaahla
Deputy Minister
Dr S Dhlomo
Director General
Dr S Buthelezi

Dr Joe Phaahla (Minister of Health) (ANC)
Deputy Minister:
Dr Sibongiseni Dhlomo (Deputy Minister of Health) (ANC)
Director General:
Dr Sandile Buthelezi
Chief of Staff:
Mr Thobani Matheza
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Ian van Der Merwe
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Jeanette Hunter (Primary Health Care and Hospital Management Systems)
Dr Anban Pillay (Suspended: Health Regulation and Compliance)
Ms Valerie Rennie (Head: Corporate Services)
Senior Management:
Mr Manage Makunyane (Head: Office of the Deputy Minister)
Mr Sindile Sodladla (Head: Office of the Director General)
Communications Officers:
Mr Popo Maja (Suspended: Chief Director: Communication and Stakeholder Engagement)
Dr Lwazi Manzi (Spokesperson: Minister)
Mr Foster Mohale (Spokesperson: Department of Health)
Mr Doctor Tshwale (Spokesperson: Health Minister)
Ms Yvonne Madulane (Personal Assistant: Deputy Minister)
Ms Nokwethemba Mchiza (Personal Assistant: Director General)
Ms Georgina Sylvester (Personal Assistant: Minister)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.