Department: Energy

The Department: Energy was merged into the Department: Mineral Resources and Energy (DMRE) in June 2019. Information displayed here is historical information as it existed before the merger.

Contact Details

Postal Private Bag X96, Pretoria, 0001
Physical 192 Cnr Visagie & Paul Kruger Streets, Pretoria
Tel 012 406 8000


The mission of the Department of Energy is to regulate and transform the sector for the provision of secure, sustainable and affordable energy. The Department’s mandate is to ensure secure and sustainable provision of energy for socio-economic development. The strategic objective derives from the NDP, which envisages that, by 2030, South Africa will have an energy sector that promotes economic growth and development, social equity and environmental sustainability.

The Department's Energy Policy is based on the following key objectives: attaining universal access to energy; accessible, affordable and reliable energy, especially for the poor; diversifying primary energy sources and reducing dependency on coal; good governance, which must also facilitate and encourage private sector investments in the energy sector; and environmentally responsible energy provision. This mandate is from the White Paper on Energy Policy, 1998, the White Paper on Renewable Energy, 2003, and the National Energy Efficiency Strategy.

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.