Council for Medical Schemes (CMS)

Contact Details

Physical: Block A, Eco Glades 2 Office Park, 420 Witch-Hazel Avenue, Eco Park, Centurion, 0157
Postal: Private Bag X34, Hatfield, 0028
Tel: 086 206 8260
Fax: 012 430 7644


The Council for Medical Schemes (CMS) regulates the medical schemes industry in a fair and transparent manner and achieves this by: protecting the public and informing them about their rights, obligations and other matters, in respect of medical schemes; ensuring that complaints raised by members of the public are handled appropriately and speedily; ensuring that all entities conducting the business of medical schemes, and other regulated entities, comply with the Medical Schemes Act; ensuring the improved management and governance of medical schemes; advising the Minister of Health about appropriate regulatory and policy interventions that will assist in attaining national health policy objectives; and ensuring collaboration with other entities in executing its regulatory mandate.

The Council's strategic objectives are to ensure that: access to good quality medical scheme cover is promoted; medical schemes and related regulated entities are properly governed, responsive to the environment, and beneficiaries are informed and protected; the CMS is responsive to the environment by being a fair, transparent, effective and efficient organisation; and the CMS provides strategic advice to influence and support the development and implementation of national health policy.

Office Bearers/Management

Prof Y Veriava
Chief Executive Officer
Dr S Kabane

Prof Yosuf Veriava
Council Members:
Prof Bonke Clayton Dumisa
Adv Harshila Khoosal Kooverjie
Dr Matlodi Steven Mabela
Ms Maboye Mosidi
Dr Loyiso Mpuntsha
Ms Lunah Nevhutalu
Prof Sadhasivan Perumal
Mr Johan van der Walt
Appeal Board:
Dr Neville Bantu Jada
Dr Clemintina Ntombizodwa Ngobese
Judge Pres Bernard Ngoepe (Chairperson)
Chief Executive Officer:
Dr Sipho Kabane (Acting CEO/Registrar)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Daniel Lehutjo
Senior Management:
Mr Craig Burton (Legal Services)
Dr Elsabe Conradie (Stakeholder Relations)
Dr Anton de Villiers (Research and Monitoring)
Mr Jaap Kügel (Information Technology and Knowledge Management)
Mr Danie Kolver (Accreditation)
Mrs Tebogo Maziya (Financial Supervision)
Mr Stephen Mmatli (Compliance and Investigations)
Mrs Lindelwa Ndziba (Human Resources Management)
Mr Paresh Prema (Benefits Management)
Communications Officers:

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Current Assets31 81817 35020 71320 369
Non-Current Assets18 35517 52113 73714 665
Total Assets50 17334 87134 45035 304
Current Liabilities16 40413 22212 40219 882
Non-Current Liabilities7 1334 5771 901660
Total Liabilities23 53717 79914 30320 482
Total Net Assets26 63617 07220 14714 822
Total Revenue132 788122 304115 042103 739
Revenue from Exchange Transactions132 332117 448110 10699 398
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactions4564 8564 9354 341
Total Expenditure(123 224)(125 379)(109 716)(99 477)
Employee Costs(80 689)(77 108)(69 669)(66 039)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Year9 564(3 075)5 3284 263
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activities19 2843 0096914 691
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activities(5 112)(7 850)(1 885)(5 882)
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Year24 68710 51515 08616 901
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure9838 4361 416353
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure----
Posts Approved109n/an/an/a
Posts Filled100n/a98n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report n/a

Overseeing Department/Entity

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
International Pre-University College
The University of Johannesburg, Faculty of Law - Department of Continuing Education Programmes
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
Applied Satellite Technology Systems
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd