Department of Mineral Resources and Energy (DMRE)

The Department of Mineral Resources and Energy (DMRE) was established in June 2019 by the merger of the Department of Energy and the Department of Mineral Resources.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr G Mantashe
Deputy Minister
Dr N Nkabane
Director General
Mr J Mbele

Mr Gwede Mantashe (Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy) (ANC)
Deputy Minister:
Dr Nobuhle Nkabane (Deputy Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy) (ANC)
Director General:
Mr Jacob Mbele
Chief of Staff:
Mr George Lekorotsoane
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Ditsietsi Morabe (Acting)
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Patricia Gamede (Corporate Services)
Mr Thabo Kekana (Programmes and Projects)
Adv Mmadikeledi Malebe (Mineral Regulation)
Mr Tseliso Maqubela (Minerals and Petroleum Regulation)
Mr Zizamele Mbambo (Nuclear)
Mr Jacob Mbele (Programmes and Projects)
Mr David Msiza (Chief Inspector of Mines)
Ms Buyisiwe Faith Ntokozo Ngcwabe (Mineral Policy and Promotions)
Ms Ntokozo Ngcwabe (Mining, Minerals and Energy)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Ms Thandiwe Maimane (Departmental Spokesperson)
Mr Johannes Mokobane
Mr Ernest Mulibana
Ms Lerato Ntsoko
Mr Natie Shabangu
Ms Mamabefu Modipa (Personal Assistant: Director General)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.