Council for Geoscience (CGS)

Contact Details

Postal Private Bag X112, Pretoria, 0001
Physical 280 Pretoria Road, Silverton, Pretoria
Tel 012 841 1911


The objectives underlying the establishment of the Council for Geoscience (CGS) are to develop and publish world-class geoscience knowledge products and to render geoscience-related services to the South African public and industry.

The mandate of the CGS includes: the systematic reconnaissance and documentation of the geology of the earth's surface and continental crust, including all offshore areas within the territorial boundaries of South Africa; the compilation of all geoscience data and information, particularly the geological, geophysical, geochemical and engineering-geological data in the form of maps and documents, which are placed in the public domain; basic geoscience research into the nature and origin of rocks, ores, minerals, formations, the history and evolution of life, and the formation of the Earth, with a view to understanding the geological processes of both the past and present, and to compile and publish such research findings nationally and internationally to contribute to the understanding of the Earth, its evolution and its resources; and the collection and curation of all geoscience data and knowledge about South Africa in the National Geoscience Repository.

This repository houses a large and growing collection of geoscience information on all the countries of the African continent. This information also includes data that was received from mining companies, universities and research institutions worldwide. Public access to all geoscience information is subject to: existing legislation, arranged through the mandate of the CGS; rendering of geoscience knowledge services and advice to the state to enable informed and scientifically-based decisions about the use of the Earth's surface and the Earth's resources, within the territory of South Africa; and management of a number of national geoscience facilities on behalf of the country. These include the National Seismograph Network, National Borehole-Core Repository, National Geoscience Heritage Collections (Geoscience Museum), and National Geoscience Library. As part of its seismological monitoring function, the CGS contributes to the verification of global compliance to the ban on underground, underwater and upper atmospheric nuclear explosions in terms of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), by making data available from stations located on South African territory; and rendering commercial geoscience services and products to national and international clients.

The Council for Geoscience is one of the national science council in the country. It is the custodian of all geoscientific information in South Africa.

Overseeing Department/Entity

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.