Department of Cooperative Governance (DCoG)

Contact Details

Postal Private Bag X804, Pretoria, 0001
Physical 87 Hamilton Street, Arcadia, Pretoria
Tel 012 334 0600/0705


The vision of the Department of Cooperative Governance is the realisation of an efficient and effective cooperative governance system that enables resilient, safe, sustainable, prosperous, cohesive, connected and climate smart communities. To this end, the Department's mission is to lead the Cooperative Governance System in support of integrated planning and implementation across all spheres of government.

The Department’s mandate is primarily derived from Chapters 3, 5, 6, 7, and 9 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, Act 108 of 1996 as well as the following legislation: the Intergovernmental Relations Framework Act 13 of 2005; Municipal Property Rates Act 6 of 2004; Municipal Structures Act 117 of 1998; Municipal Systems Act 32 of 2000; Disaster Management Act 57 of 2002; Remuneration of Public Bearer’s Act 20 of 1998; Sections 100, 139 and 154, Monitoring/Intervention Bill.

The Department's mandate is further informed by: Spatial Planning and Land Use Management Act 16 of 2013; Integrated Urban Development Framework (IUDF) 2016; National Spatial Development Framework (NSDF); Municipal Finance Management Act 56 of 2003.

Reporting Entities

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.